Happy Independence Day!

IMG_7740

The corn is in!

Lest you are not from this corn country, you may not appreciate how important and anticipated day this is!  The farm stand down the road has a corn count down sign.  THey have some of the earliest corn in the county I am told.

IMG_7744

I am not a native.

Corn on the cob. Yum.  Sweet corn.

In China it is roasted over fires in metal drums but not sweet.  Lots are eaten anyway.  In Germany years ago when it was German American Day festival, one of the biggest money makers at the Officer Wives Club food stand was sweet corn on the cob.  We couldn’t make it fast enough. It was frozen.

IMG_7746

Corn in many parts other world including Germany is considered animal feed.  Bit sweet corn?  No.  It is so delicious.

IMG_7738

I tried to buy frozen corn on the cob once for Love Bug’s 6th grade social studies project Cuban stew.  None to be found. The kind lady working in those early morning hours said with all seriousness, it is Lancaster county and well…whicpering she named a rival store might cry the traitorous item.  I bought some of the Florida corn in the husk.

IMG_7741

Unheard of. I am sure it is only us non-native people who buy that.  We just don’t know how to appreciate corn.

IMG_7742

I love to eavesdrop on conversations when the local corn comes in as the men and women pick through the piles at the stands nad in the store looking for the best ones.

There are many ways to prepare corn on the cob. But I still remember a corn fair I attended in Ohio with while visiting a friend when I was in high school.

Big steaming vats of rolling milk water full of bright corn ears.  Then roller in bowls of butter.

Now that is good eating.

That is how I will be cooking my corn today…from the farm stand down the road that picks it fresh every morning and gives each customer a frequent corn buyer card.

I love America.

DSCN2721

Happy Birthday! 

blessings, linda

for another 4th of July post see https://omega57.wordpress.com/2012/05/22/the-smell-of-freedom/

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Birthdays, Celebrations, family, home, photography, Summer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Independence Day!

  1. There used to be a saying here in Indiana that your corn should be “knee-high by the Fourth of July.” Now, if it’s not almost ready to be harvested by the Fourth, you’re behind.

    Me, I’m going to take a break from my blogging and enjoy a different food staple on the Fourth – Strawberry Shortcake!

  2. freshjuniper says:

    Saw your link on Foodie Friday. Nice post!

    http://freshjuniper.blogspot.com

    Reecea

  3. Oh corn is one of my favorites too! Corn salad, corn fritters…yum!
    Have a happy weekend!

  4. Anita Diaz says:

    Hi Linda, we certainly love corn here in NC! My mom freezes the best creamed corn that they enjoy all year long. The paint you asked about is “Secluded Guestroom” by Colorplace at Walmart. I love their paints and have used them for several years now. They used to be made by Sherwin Williams, not sure if they still are. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

