Promise

returning home, Dulles tarmac
 

I forgot about this rainbow. I even shared how wonderful it was with Love Bug and Jim when they picked me up. I don’t know how I could have forgotten. It was so clear even through the plane window. All colors of the rainbow were so distinct, so stunning. By the time I got my camera out, the plane was moving so the full bow was no longer visible. A full bowed rainbow with all the colors!  That is rare.  A reminder of the eternal promise of everlasting love.  Everlasting Love! 

Our plans for the coming week just did not happen and how very thankful I am for that!

After 2 weeks in Europe for a short girl vacation plus a 8 day training “Women Serving Women” my friend and I made it back with all our chocolate intact for gifts.  Who can visit Switzerland and not buy chocolate for gifts?

Jet lag seemed slight and I was feeling pretty good especially after my Sunday afternoon nap.  Ready for the week to come.

My husband Jim was scheduled to fly to Turkey and central Asia for 10 days on business Tuesday.  While not looking forward to him being gone it is not that unusual.

No so fast!  He jumped up out of bed. We had just turned the light out after looking at my trip photos.  “Don’t panic. I am calling 911; I am having chest pains.”

DON”T PANIC! are you kidding! No, he was not so I didn’t. I can actually be calm in an emergency like most moms and women in general. It is in the aftermath that we let loose with emotions.

As I sat in the car to follow the ambulance, the shaking set in so much that I called my son who was upstairs to drive me.  I didn’t really trust myself.  Then I called my daughter who came over immediately dressed as her husband had instructed her. She too was stunned but holding it together for us.  She stayed with the love gals while Will and I took off.  We found Jim hooked up to the usual machines in the hall area of the heart problem emergency section.  After an EKG, the doctor put him on meds to slow down his heart rate. He wa diagnosed with atrial fibrillation. He would be admitted.

Reasons to give thanks made their way into my stunned mind.  He was alive. He did not have a heart attack.  He was not on a plane headed to some locations with questionable medical care availability.  Medications should help his heart to beat regularly and keep the blood flowing correctly.

After returning home I feel into bed.  Jet lag paled in comparison to the heavy tiredness I felt.  One love gal went to school I don’t think she really understood what was going on; we were both too foggy to communicate well. The other one stayed home. She was very upset. My oldest daughter and her sweet peas came over to stand in the gap.  She cooked and spent time with Love Bug making lovely sugar cookies in Easter shapes.  She carefully set aside some for Dad.

Today we hope he will be home. The tests are not showing the results the doctor is looking for yet. That’s okay.

Can we trust Him to take care of us? Absolutely.  Is His timing good? Yes. Would I be saying the same things if events had taken another turn? Yes.

Earlier in the day at a small group worship time we talked about the 23rd Psalm.  Each of us were asked to share which phrase about God’s care stood out to us.  Only one of us chose the one “Though I go through the valley of the shadow of death, …thou art with me.”  If I was asked again, the answer would be exactly that.

We are praising God for His lovingkindness.

Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His lovingkindness is everlasting. I Chronicles 16:34


Blessings, 

Linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in family, His Love, Prayer, Reflection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Promise

  1. deniseinchina says:

    Praying he comes home soon. Praises for all the “good” things in this situation with you.

  2. deniseinchina says:

    I am praying that he is comes home soon! Also praises for all the “good” things that happened in the last couple days. Love you all

Leave a Reply

