Anticipation

 

He is home. My husband is home.  He is fine; just has to take meds and go to the doctor from time  to time. One nurse friend told us he was now part of the over 50 elite club.  Lots of folks have a fib evidently.

This morning was a sweet one from the first love gal up and out the door. Next we made crepes for the second one. Jim and I sat and read the paper, checked emails and generally have had a quiet morning.

The sun is absolutely amazing this morning.

Lent is drawing to a close; it is Thursday of Holy Week. The day of the covenant meal. Despite the sorrow associated with recalling the coming agony on the cross, there was the anticipation of the resurrection. Of the complete change ahead.

I, for one, resist change. I have had it all my adult life. Moves with military assignments, moves within cities. Coming “home” for home assignments barely getting my feet on the ground and time  to return. Change.  I can’t say I have always embraced it.  The anticipation of the change is fraught with pitfalls and losses.  Looking ahead  to the new is fun but that also carries a lot of fear of the unknown.  It is not a vacation to have a life full of changes.  We study and practice the recommended ways to help ourselves and family through the changes but frankly, it takes a toll.

Having been back for about 2 years now on a regular basis I was feeling like maybe I had made a turn toward really being settled in.  Not quite though. Those relationships that took a sad turn, the job that we took was not exactly what I anticipated.  The cabinets are still not well-organized.   Not all is settled. I asked a new friend how long it her. She said 5 years.  Ouch! I told her with a laugh, “That is not encouraging.”  Anticipation wears off and the reality sets in. The buzz is not buzzing anymore.  The routine of the daily sets in and takes hold.  Admittedly, dullness can happen.

The disciples were in for a change to beat all!  Their beloved rabbi was going to die. They got that.  But did they really understand He was the Son of God? Not fully. Did they know what was about to happen?  They were going to be part of the most significant event in human history and you know they took a nap and hid.  Anything to avoid danger or sorrow.  Then, bam! They saw Him again. Risen! They saw the empty tomb. Thomas gets all the heat but he was at least honest by saying I live in a real world. How can this be? After all it had never been before.  Change!

Anticipation is something we experience every day as believers.

Anticipation of His second coming.

Anticipation of heaven.

Anticipation of eternity with God and Jesus.  A change we will welcome.

As I get older, I do savor the anticipation of heaven, of eternity.

That is one change I can look forward to with anticipation.

Have a blessed Easter!  May you find joy in the anticipation!

Bessings,

Linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anticipation

  1. Deborah Sayer says:

    So grateful that Jim is well, is home and all is right in your world. Praise the Lord!

Leave a Reply

