Centering Down

Interesting how a book can capture your attention on the first read and years later, recapture from a different perspective. The chapter title itself transitions us well from Murray’s Humility to the same topic, different approach.

The Signature of Jesus by Brennan Manning is one I am rereading, at least parts of it.

My husband and I are are planning a spiritual retreat with coworkers.  To prepare our minds and hearts for reflection and worship we are asking the team members to do some reading. They are all adults with lots to do. Aren’t we all? Reading is for some of us and others just have to make ourselves so the reading list is short and includes only selected chapters. Because we remember better when we process by discussion or writing, we are asking for a written response  to share with each other.

Now, I like to write and I like to read. Put them together and that is a great learning experience for me. Toss in conversation and it is perfect!

My response has become part of this season of struggling with centering and focus.  What does He want me to do?  Journeys to growth and maturity in Him; to be like Him are in fact struggles.

“Any spirituality that does not lead from a self-centered to an other centered mode of existence is bankrupt.”

Seems Manning and Murray’s thinking and conclusions are only separated by language because they are saying the same thing! Years seperating us from the previous generations do not change truth.

How to have the

signed lifestyle

with Christ written all over us is the goal, the desire. Humility comes to mind; it is central.

             ”The essence for the follower of Jesus lies in living by faith…in constantly refining and reaffirming                         our identity with Jesus, measuring ourselves against Him…”

Manning passes along the recommendation of others before us who have pursued the “signed life” to practice the of the discipline of

centering down

                                            throughout the day. The rub is establishing the discipline of measuring ourselves                                              against Him to do this very thing!

A few ways of pursuing the

signed life

stood out.

I liked what he had to say about praying the Lord’s Prayer 3x a day. Frankly, there have been times in my life this was the only prayer that crossed my lips because I just didn’t know what else to say. Sometimes I try too hard when I pray instead of allowing the Holy Spirit to instruct me.The art of listening still needs cultivation in my life.

How can I live for others like He did?  Thinking of grumps who just need some loving is not what I would think. It is a bit risky because it pushes me beyond polite kindness to Christ likeness. Of course I want that but to make a move out of my comfort zone? To shift the grid to Christ’s view of seeing them as little kids who just wanted some loving, wow, that should really make a difference at least in my own heart and actions! In East Asia when I would get frustrated and people were not nice, I would think, because we said it so much, that maybe, just maybe I might be the only way for them to “See Christ”. It did change the way I would respond.

I am still mulling over the discussion of His ministry being rooted in compassion for the lost, lonely and broken and how this should be affecting my own life. Just remembering above all that God loves the people who pass through my life and wants them to love Him back. My memory is not always so good. Guess

centering down

                   more frequently along with those inner conversation not with myself but with Him would make a big difference.

My prayer is that others ould see the

signature of Jesus

all over me!

                                           

   Blessings, Linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Discipline, His Love, Ministry, Prayer, Refining, Reflection, Truth, Uncategorized, Walk with Him Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

