Morale Lifters

sidewinder and angie johnson


“Sidewinder” is back from deployment.

Who? “Sidewinder” is an Air Force band.  They served in Afghanistan and performed for the troops.  Boy, can they perform.  The video that went viral was filmed in a hanger; that is a big empty space for airplanes. No fancy sound systems, no fancy acoustics; just talent with big voices and a big sound!  Photo: BandoftheCentralStates.ang.af.mil

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eBaskRZDbNA

Young men and a woman serving in the military.  Concerned for others.  Now wonder I am high on this young generation!

I was intrigued since I have a background with military bands.  THe 84th Army Band had some great musicians. There were bands within the band. The “ensemble” played the hit tunes, the dance band was popular even with the Germans. And the marching band was fun to watch. And yes, I marched with them.

Okay, those of you who know me, close your mouths and stop laughing.  I was a commander of an Army band a long time ago during the Cold War while stationed in Germany. Just to be clear I was an officer with a speciality in transportation. I am not a musician! Why? Another story for another time.

Quit laughing!  The first woman ever and we had a woman first sergeant too.  Some of the Vietnam vets had issues with that.  Okay, lots of people did in those days of firsts for women in the military. Even assigned to the band, we were still soldiers. I think we were still in the WAC Corps and attached to our branches.  Maybe some day, I will even post a picture from the past!

So yes, this caught my attention.

Watching them reminded me of those days long ago.  The Cold War, East Germany mere miles away. Playing in unlikely spots for the troops stuck in the wet snow.  Times have changed

The videos of this AFCENT band are performing in unlikely places except if you have been a solider or airman or sailer or Marine. Performing in dining halls,  tents, in open hangers, hospital area, just about anywhere. With and without sound equipment.

Watching them reminded me of those days long ago.  The Cold War, East Germany mere miles away. Playing in unlikely spots for the troops stuck in the wet snow.  Times have changed.

Take a listen. This band of airmen are yet another example of what is good in our military. They are professionals volunteering to serve our nation.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=II5wPNC9NJU   Please note this is via SKYPE!!

Http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGnGH-05HPA&feature=relmfu

Just watching them sing in uniforms with and without weapons, sound equipment present or not is a reminder; talent counts, not staging! Hearing comments in interviews says volumes about these young people, and all of it positive!

Times are different but the need for encouragement and morale lifting is a constant.

This volunteer military, as I have said before many times, demonstrates that this younger generation is one who will do just great even with all the adversity and maybe because of it.

Blessings, Linda

 

 

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Reflection, Serving our country, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Morale Lifters

  1. Denise says:

    I loved seeing these young people being able to sing while serving our country. My son is in a band with the air national guard in an undisclosed place right now. I am glad he has a healthy outlet to have fun. Thanks for sharing this link!

  2. Jane says:

    Amazing! Thanks for sharing this. Uplifting and patriotic and just plain good for the soul!

Leave a Reply

