Friends Coming Over

One absolutely beautiful; morning before Easter, Jim and I had friends over for breakfast.  They had just returned from SE Asia.  We wanted to hear their travel stories.

The story telling was like being there.

The grape and pink flowers were the perfect complement to the

vintage cloth from Jim’s grandmother’s home.   PS….Please don’t look at the  unironed part.

The pink, lavender, greens and yellow-green are delightful and make me smile.

Often when I get out dishes out to use for special occasions, I have a rush of memories.  I love that about these Peter Rabbit ones. Reminders of days gone by when every breakfast my older children ate from Peter Rabbit porridge bowls and drank hot chocolate from the small-sized mugs with small-sized hands.

Today like the “old” days, we make full pots of chocolate to chase away the chill of mornings and afternoons.  If we have whipped cream, a touch of sprinkles are always in order.  We are such girls!  And I love it!!

Sh! I usually have hot tea.

The gracefulness of those times are special moments that Daddy sometimes joins us. Because I cherish our special times together the china often comes from our collections.

This sweet yellow platter (TJ Maxx) adds a pretty yellow to the spring setting.

Another memory is of my single days in Germany. Regularly each payday, my girl friend and I would  buy Wedgwood Peter Rabbit children and baby dishes baby sets.  My hopes of a family to share it with some day were to come true. And in the mean time, I used them just for fun and femininity.

My mom’s blue flower Havilland are just perfect

and don’t overshadow the bolder colors of the cloth and only enhance Peter’s blue jacket!


Some days, I roll back the high expectations I put on myself  and amazingly, the table always looks welcoming.  I have finished it off with plain white paper, yes, paper napkins (thick ones, not the thin crisp ones). I am laughing at myself here because I used to be such a snob about these things.  Now I am just mostly a  happy hostess, loving beauty and friends both.  Other items used are KMart Martha Stewart glasses, TJ Maxx salt and pepper shakers and vase from the past with everyday silverware finish the table, almost! The most important is still missing.

And that is our friends. Lovely as this tablescape is, the best part is not what you see

but the friendship and fellowship we experienced that lovely morning.

Hope you have some good times around your tables too.

Blessing,
Linda


Please do not copy without permission.



About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in home, Tablescapes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friends Coming Over

  1. Mimi says:

    What a lovely table, Linda. The little Peter Rabbit cups are adorable.

  2. Joan says:

    Lovely post with all the memories! I love that yellow platter! Thanks for sharing, Joan

  3. Denise says:

    I wish I was the one who came to breakfast. I love your table settings. I miss having my dishes here in Asia.

Leave a comment