Mother’s Day Love Language

IMG_7398

“I don’t know but pour ’em all on!”

That was our then teen’s reply when we asked him about what’s your love language more than a few years ago.  We did discuss it with him but he couldn’t be budged.

Pour ’em all on! 

In reality isn’t that really how we all feel?  Okay, don’t touch me too much but other than that…pour ’em on.

When he asked the guys at school what their love language was…it was an international Christian school by the way and almost all the kids were kids of workers,  they thought he was just waxing eloquent about nothing.  He’s considering law or politics today.  No, he told them it is for real. Ask your parents.

Last year my DH decided to test us all including the other son’s girlfriend, Jessica. Serious Girlfriend.  Why? So we could know everyone’s love language. She must be thinking what has she gotten herself into.  I am thinking a pretty sweet spot. We love her.

IMG_7327_2

Rob & Jessica

I digress.  Love Language. I love giving and receiving gifts.  Turns out to our surprise when  took the test years ago my top one was quality time. My husband’s was ZERO, that is a big fat ZERO on everything but acts of service. Like mom, like son at least as far as wanting the love to be poured on. I scored in every area.

Jim and I have learned a lot since then.

IMG_7332

me & jim

I still like to give and receive gifts but Time as my adult kids are older and we have spent continents apart for months had become more important, sweeter still.  Quality time has obviously increased in value for me.

Take Mother’s Day. We got invited to spend it in DC with Rob & Jessica. They even made hotel reservations for us.  We are a lot of people!

I was pleased as pink punch!!!

IMG_7375

They planned well; her mom from out west was there too. She was delightful. Only Will who had to work was missing.

The Sweet Peas made me cards with stickers. Lots of stickers.

We ate out at the perfect spot Saturday night. A popular Mexican place with a curvy booth seat by a big window for the Sweet Peas. Though the hostess said 1 1/2 hours, we were going to wait. We had 12 people with 3 little ones and 3 cars parked on nearby streets.

IMG_7326

Leave, load up and go somewhere else? Heck, no! We were in downtown DC, a city.  That’s big for us coming from a county known by its name and corn. Lancaster County.

IMG_7330

Instead we hit the bar for drinks and water. Jessica tracked down a waiter to bring us chips and salsa. She was taking care of us. It didn’t start raining until we were called in. We were in the outdoor waiting area perched on stools. I was trying to not slide off.  No one was pushy or whiney including the other parties waiting. Our wait was less than one hour! How about that!

They planned a fabulous roof top brunch for Sunday, Mother’s Day! Recipes will be posted soon because they are delicious!

IMG_7353IMG_7355IMG_7396IMG_7387IMG_7369

We helped but not too much because Robert kept saying “Don’t do that Mom, I will.”  Gush.

IMG_7413IMG_7410

I was so pleased because, well, he was loving me real good.  He let Sweet Pea help. So sweet; my heart was melting.

My kids are actually all good at that… loving me and their dad and each other and I sure hope I am good at loving them real good too!

Why the test? Jim and I just want to be better at knowing our gang of kiddos big and small and grand. It helps.

IMG_7354

blessings, linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, family, Hospitality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mother’s Day Love Language

  1. Pingback: Sabbah Words…dancing

Leave a Reply

