Beauty

P1070863

sisters

It’s the Holy Spirit shining through. 

Beauty is never far from the mind of most women.  Anything can trigger a woman’s thought toward her looks and acceptance. Yes, because we consider Beauty so important.

He created us in beauty. We love beauty.

Like so many things that were intended for good, the evil one twists beauty into deception.

Take a look at this powerful video from Dove Soap, yes Dove Soap. I admit I teared up for them and me. I can say I identify. How often do I really regarded myself in a true way? When have I pushed it down too afraid to believe any truth about myself? Does that mean I am not fully living who I am?  Not to be based on the outward but as He made me. Because I am believing a lie?

Dove Real Beauty Sketches

My mom was beautiful. Mom as a young woman looked like a young Norma Jean before she became Marilyn Monroe. I don’t recall her ever fretting about how she looked. She walked in confidence.  She loved us well, my dad, brother and I.  She loved her grandchildren with purity. Her extended family; without a doubt. She loved Lord too. That was really what made her beautiful. Love.

The topic of outward appearance and the inward heart was a recent topic for our church’s youth.  Wondering if it took?

Last night, Amy had friends over after school.  They had fun getting ready for the 8th grade dance that night.  Giggles and laughter; make up and curling iron.  Joyful and full of anticipation.

The bevy of beauties came down for dinner.  I told them they looked beautiful each and everyone.  They were pleased.

Amy responded,

“It’s the Holy Spirit shining through!”  

They are 14.  They all agreed.

Did you catch that?

It’s the Holy Spirit shining through.  

And they agreed! Becoming women of strength and wisdom because of the Holy Spirit.

A new definition of beauty

the Holy Spirit shining through.

 

You should clothe yourselves instead with the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God. 1 Peter 3:4 NLT

 

blessings, linda

 

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in His Love, Refining, Reflection and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beauty

  1. What wise and truly beautiful girls. Love this!
    ~FringeGirl

Leave a Reply

