Sunday Anchors

IMG_6838

Anchors

are big STRONG things that hold wandering or slippery things in place.  A boat, a piece of wood, a nail.  An anchor.  Something that holds something, usually bigger in place. Without it, the thing would drift, fall and maybe even break.  I wish I could say there will be no break in my house but sadly, that may happen despite best efforts.  So we all put forth best efforts of love to keep us together.  And we are satisfied with that.

Sunday suppers are an anchor for our family.  It’s my responsibility to plan what we will eat.  It is my pleasure.  My girls want it.  We all love it!  We all plan what we will do.

It’s Sunday and we are in total hunker down mode. Due to a family emergency, Jim, the girls and I headed down to Atlanta.  It is a full day drive.  We took about 13 hours including stops for each way.  We left Thursday and returned Saturday…late.  Yes, even the girls are tired.

Being a seasoned mom who has pushed and insisted about going here and there and keeping appearances when we just needed to stay home, unpack, resettle and slow down before busy days coming, we did not do that today.  We are not going to church! There were meetings missed. Gasp.

We meandered downstairs thorough the morning and early afternoon in search of food.  Earlier, I made a quick chicken noodle soup.  The big blue pot was on the stove. Crackers, croutons, spoons and bowls were set out on the counter.  Quick to make and easy to serve for our lazy day.

Our Sunday Supper is even simpler. In fact, the pizza is on the way!  It’s not who makes it or what it is, it is about being together.  Remember that!

Meals we all enjoy and are familiar to me to prepare so there is little stress or fuss are great. Sometimes the table is plain. Other times maybe we dress the table up. Sometimes my daughter and her family come over.  We may eat around a movie or at the dining room table or in the kitchen. It may be a buffet or pass the platter.   So far with our young teens we have most of our meals together but there is something unique to us about Sunday supper.  It isn’t earth shattering; it isn’t always profound. It just is us together.

Anchoring! 

 

blessings,  linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, family, home, Sunday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Anchors

  1. Pingback: Sunday Anchors | Bushel and a Pickle

Leave a Reply

