Welcome, not perfection

IMG_4066

welcome to tea is for all ages
 
 

It’s trying to be spring here which means lots of sunshine and fleeces only.   A beautiful day!

Question for you this morning.

Do you “host or have folks in regularly; preplanned or impromptu?  I’m asking because this post stirred up some memories of the good and bad things that have happened as I have opened my door over the past 3 decades to multitudes who came by themselves or in a pack 6 or more or horde of let’s say 20 or more.  Yes we have had the or more up to more than 50.

Our lives of global nomads combined with the hosting and Bible studies that took place in our home have been a part of our family we would never want to change.  But frankly, there were times I needed some reminders.

I thought this post  was a good reminder of what should be happening in those times.

How many times was I flustered or not ready or irritated for whatever reason knowing love and welcome should be in my heart; not pride or irritation?  Yes, pride.  The me first and my preparation is not to be disturbed kind of pride.

Isn’t it mind-boggling what might throw you “off” when someone comes to your door?  The act of welcome is so important.  And it is okay to invite someone to just sit and wait with tender words until you are ready, whatever that may be that day.

How did I handle the rudeness in the aftermath? Not always so well.  I usually was so intent on the other’s rudeness, I just never bother to consider my own. Ouch! More pride and selfishness.

I have learned through the years a few “tricks”, oops, make that “disciplines”. It sounds better.  Anyway, these are a few things I did that helped gain perspective like taking a separation break of some sort. You know the kind.  The ones when your children need to gather themselves so you send them away.  Or on the spot deep breathing and prayer.  Serious and stern talking to self. My husband was sometimes around and calmed me through tender words.

However, we all know that doesn’t happen all the time.  Practicing discipline of welcome and love is not easily done. The discipline of welcome over perfection is the one of the ways He is refining me into Christlikeness.

blessings, linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in family, Hospitality, Life overseas, Sin, Spiritual struggles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome, not perfection

Leave a Reply

