Scattered

 

IMG_7159

Lent

is a time for focus, not for being scattered.

Sadly, I find myself captivated to things that are mental and time sinks.  I get                         captivated” by this or that.  Yesteryear the word for that might be scatterbrained.  Now it is random.

Whatever it is called, it still means I scatter myself around for this project, that book.  Not uncommon for moms.  A fun word for multi-tasking without order.

There is a problem.  Sometimes I never quite finish some things or they fall to the way side.  Jim used to say when I started to read a very captivating book, “See you in a few days!”  As a mom and homemaker there are real life reasons for this.  No reasons for guilt.  But where I look around and realize several days the piles have grown and a good dusting is needed I know focus!

Actually I do get a lot done.  The problem can be, I ignore other things.

Like creativity. Like the peace of tranquility that comes with order.  Kind of like God you know, orderly and giver of peace.  Like the Word. Like Worship. Like Him.

It is

Lent.

While our own tradition is not elaborate or very traditional; we do a bit more than just acknowledge the season.  This year since we have been traveling, busy and sick, I haven’t done much more than that.

Love Princess had a friend over Friday night. Her family observes Lent by abstaining.  She was having trouble.  She felt bad.  Around our dinner table we remembered and reminded ourselves that one reason for Lent is not only to prepare; it is to identify with the struggle Jesus had in the garden and the abstinence of the desert.

We remembered

Lent

ultimately was about forgiving.  The reason for the cross. Forgiveness.  Mercies are new every morning.  Praise God!

The Lord’s lovingkindnesses indeed never cease,  For His compassions never fail.   They are new every morning;  Great is Your faithfulness.  “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul,  “Therefore I have hope in Him.” Lamentations 3:22-24

blessings,                                                               linda                                                                                                                                       

 

 

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Lent, New Testament, Sin, Uncategorized, Worship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

