Sameness

Sadly some days, I just can’t come up with anything new to be thankful for. Does that mean my life is boring? Hummm.  Don’t know about that but I do love the sameness.  A lifetime of not always having sameness has given me an appreciation for the times of no change even if there is a major one on the horizon.

The anticipation of change can often be so distracting and disheartening and lots of other dis words that I can be so exhausted when the change actually takes place that I don’t cope well.

Actually, change is usually a long process. Rarely is something dropped on us unexpectedly.  Sure it does happen like an unexpected firing from a job.  An unexpected death or heart attack.

Love Princess wrote an autobiography for her reading class. I always get a kick out of reading the love gals’ self reporting papers. You just never know what they really thought until they write it down in response to the right question.

Okay, that is another topic for another time.  She wrote about the time we sold almost all our household goods including clothes before we moved “half way around the world” after over 13 years. A long time. Longer than she has been alive.

She said it was fun? Astoundingly, yes. In case it isn’t clear, as the mom, that answer would be a no, no, it was not fun! There is an exception to the fun.

The good byes. 

You  know the saying “everything but the kitchen sink“? Well, we sold that, the cabinets, furniture, curtains and rods.  Even the doors!  Yes, the doors because we bought them; not the landlord.

Her new saying would be “everything including the floor”! Yep, we sold our flooring. The landlord did buy it.  Whew!  Taking it up would have been a very tiring experience.

She wrote about red eyes. Who cried?  “Everybody cried except one friend and the moms and dads.”  Maybe not that time but we did cry.  Her story included simple straightforward sentences that were full of emotion. “After that we went to Beijing and stayed at the Sino Swiss where our very best friends met us. That’s were we had  to say good-bye again. My eyes were red at the airport.  I was so sad that I slept on the airplane.”

A few of the details were confused for that particular good-bye. The ones that matter are the emotional ones. Fun, saying goodbye, tears, red eyes.

Sad.

I can understand that. Emotional laden goodbyes have been very much a part of her young life.

Little did we know what this move would actually mean to our lives.  We still don’t know because another change, a good one is in progress.  This is a good change and it includes some sameness!  So thankful for many reasons; most of all no moving! We were just getting settled in. It only took me more than 2 years!  I rearranged the living room or Christmas so we could see the tree.

Many reasons to be thankful and give praise today

quiet times in living room enjoying the Christmas tree lights

sitting on the porch in the cool morning with my husband

morning mist on the field

grocery stores with full shelves

hints of autumn 

the color turquoise

library books

fans

memories

Christmas trees and dishes

blessing, linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Advent, family, home, moving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

