Silence

There were testimonies today for the sermon.  Not the testimony testimonies but rather how God used the Psalms in the teller’s  life to edify, encourage, convict or comfort.  Frankly, I was kind of tuning in and out (I had been all morning already) except when 2 men spoke.  Older men who have been transparent before us so many days. When they talk, I listen.

The convicting one was from one of our Pastor Emeritus, Walt Jackson.  He’s one of the good guys. The very good guys of all sorts of manner.  He is a gentleman in the truest classic sense of the word.  Actually some exact words to use are godly, righteous, worthy of emulating, faithful.

He told us about a time of being

silent.

Now usually if someone is silent on an issue, I think, “Oh,  he didn’t speak up or out.”  It could be on any topic, good or bad or whatever.  Silence usually means some one was not acknowledged or given credit while you held the words in, for praise or for credit.  Silence can mean silent on a political issue. Or a moral one.

It often is used to tell about reflection and pondering. It can be disappointing when we feel God is being silent.

But today, he said he was

silent toward God

not because of being mad or disappointed.  But because of sin.

Pastor Walt said he had sinned and he gave God the

silent treatment! 

By the way, that is never ever a good idea!

Pastor Walt let us know that he was just like David in Psalm, a year later after a full year of silence David tells God,

“my sin is ever before me”.

Holding on to pride in arrogance trying to hide a sin for a year.  This was a big sin!  Murder and adultery and death of a baby. Most likely, lots of folks knew about David’s sin but no one dare to confront it.

Pastor Walt held on to a sin for about a decade. It was not a big sin so to speak but big enough.  Big enough to be a nagging presence that never went away. Dormant but not away.

Hiding a sin from God is like playing hide and go seek with little kids.  They can never hide good enough!  Give it up! The old-fashioned word is Surrender.

“My sin is ever before me”

Honestly, have you ever tried to hide a sin? Are you now? I have tried to hide a sin, a lot of sin a lot of times. It is ever before me…until.  You know what is next. Acknowledging it; naming it.  I did this and it was sin. Not, I didn’t excuse it as  it wasn’t merely a nice thing to do or the false disclaimer of “I shouldn’t have”. Name it what it is, SIN. That is the hard part.

The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit;  A broken and a contrite heart, O God, You will not despise.

Breath easy now and tell God you are sorry.  Repent.  Do what ever else is needed.

This is the good part…asking for forgiveness. Restoration.

Create in me a clean heart, O God,
And renew a steadfast spirit within me.
Do not cast me away from Your presence
And do not take Your Holy Spirit from me.
Restore to me the joy of Your salvation

selected verses from Psalm 51

blessings, linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Discipline, His Love, Old Testament, Prayer, Refining, Reflection, Sin, Spiritual struggles, Sunday, Truth, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Silence

  1. This was a great post. It really touched my heart. Thanks for stopping by Posed Perfection yesterday and leaving me a sweet comment. I am happily following you back. Have a great week!
    Blessings,
    Nici

Leave a Reply

