Putting Lists In Their Place

Have you ever put someone in their place?  Probably felt good at least for a minute or two. Then, the reality of  your behavior and speech was maybe not as godly as you hoped?  However, there is somethings to put in their place and you’ll feel great!

I was reminded by a friend today to put certain things in their place.  And I am not talking housekeeping. No way!  I am talking about lists and the to do’s that are not really must do’s.  Put those things in their place by golly!

Sit in your garden. Go to the pool.  Linger over the Word of God.

I’m fully embracing this year’s summer.  Frankly, I’m tired and so are the girls of doing all the stuff on lists this past year. I read an entire book at the pool during on long visit surrounded by sun and laughter.  I was peaceful.  By the way, Jim made our summer list for memorizing and reading for the girls.  Yeah, we still have the full calendar of necessary doctor and dentist appointments and a class I am part of Tuesday night. I still have work responsibilities.  Two of us have surgeries being scheduled. But my yeses are not many. Grocery lists save us time and money for reading, crafts, pools and watching movies and Eureka!

A friend reminded me that my true priority in the dailies was mothering my kids, big and small.

I made up a lists for things to do this summer. Really. Doesn’t it sound stupid? At least for my family.  Definitely not part of our ethos.  My love gals were puzzled. “Why?” they wondered.  “Let’s go to the pool.” We are rather enamored with the pool since we finally got our membership after several years of only making the waiting list.  Pictures ate the pool up next! I have to take some first. hard to do and read a book at the same time. Those lists were never posted!

Put all that stuff and lists in their place!  And don’t feel bad about it for one single minute!!

 

Blessings, Linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

