Wills and Birthdates

Sweet Pea and her Uncle Rob. Her mom is the eldest child. Uncle Rob is #2.

Have you ever done a will? We have. Several different updates through the years. Now that our oldest is 30 and the youngest is 12 we thought it was time for a new one. You know, to change the guardianship for the minor kids.  We figure the big kids are old enough now to be responsible. Seriously though, it is long over due.

You might think our motivation was we better get organized. Nope. There is nothing like 2 trips to the hospital for undiagnosed A Fib, heart not beating correctly and painful and scores of tests to motivate.  Husband Jim is learning to live with it  and still has more tests.  I now really understand why that tray of ugly meds sits in every kitchen of …I can’t bring myself to write “old people“.  You understand. That said, we have 2; one in the kitchen and one in the dining room where he parks himself and his stuff every day. It makes me want to cry. Not because we have meds though that is a blessing. It is because they are so stinking UGLY!

I have got to figure out a new place!! A hiding place. Orange plastic bottles with a side of dark green ones does not fit my decor! Ugly is not an option. There are no trays pretty enough or baskets deep enough. Ballgloves, sneakers and extra flip-flops are okay but a tray of pill bottles. NO.

The law firm sent some forms.  They need to be filled out for the appointment.  Okay. Easy right?

Nancy and Rob   seems like yesterday

Just one problem though, we couldn’t seem to remember the birth years of all of the kids. I mean, it is not like we have a horde of kids; just a bevy.  Less than half a dozen.  Five to be exact.

After we hem and hawed over who was born when, I called the eldest. She is good with numbers and apparently birth dates too. I have observed that my children roll their eyes every time we ask them when where you born or how old are you.  In my defense, I do know where every one of them was born and can tell that story well or the gotcha story for the younger ones.  That’s important, right!

Even the young private at the ID center on base did not roll his eyes at me when he discovered my driver’s license and military spouse ID had different birth years.  He did smile though. His momma must have brought him up right. I was much younger then by at least 20 years.  That particular ID was several years old; that is how long I had it before anyone ever noticed!

The good news is we were almost right on every kid and I didn’t have to ask my son who is upstairs or call the other one because I can sense their eyes rolling, the attempted withheld sigh and the poof of air they  try to hide while trying not to be exasperated or laugh out loud at me. Ha, I am the mom and can read those signs so well no matter how old they are!

Jim’s 58th birthday  Uncle Rob and Sweet Pea too

Again, we are not old! I personally have better things to remember than details like that. I manage to have a party and gift for them on the day every year.  They don’t complain then! Isn’t it fun to be one of the family quirks!

In case it is not apparent

I LOVE MY FAMILY!

I am absolutely crazy about them.  They drive me nuts at times but the love never ever changes.  There is so much security in that. Just like I know His love is forever as in eternal.

Would you share about a time you laughed with somebody you love?

Blessings,

Linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Adoption, Birthdays, family, His Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

