Pushing Through to Him

Lent is supposed to be about fasting and reflection, preparing for the Easter celebration of the Resurrection.  So how can I observe Lent in way that would prepare my heart for celebration?

Lent is marked by fasting, both from food and festivities. Whatever the sacrifice it is a reflection of Jesus’ deprivation in the wilderness and a test of self-discipline.

I have been spending more than a bit of time thinking about Lent along with the what’s and why’s.   Coupled with that has been my frustration at not being able to do what I want to do, believing it is, in fact, what I should be spending my “work” time on.  A divided mind has trouble pushing through.

Today I needed to clean, really clean my study.  It has my collection of books and my husband’s of East Asia focused one plus all our Bible study reference books too. The love gals study and do projects here too. Add scrapbook pretties, the boxes of memories waiting, waiting… Wall to wall furniture, trash cans, shredders and a card table in the middle. Well, I am sure you get the picture!

Often I get sidetracked when I start this type of cleaning. Not today! Nope. Instead the question I asked was why in the world do I still have this? Why did I keep this? Pushing through.

Years ago as a new lieutenant in the army, there were 2 things I was told. One was walk fast with a clipboard even to lunch. Everyone will think you are busy and therefore a good officer.  (That only takes you so far by the way.)

The other was eliminate and concentrate.  You know the good, the best, the must do’s.

Pushing through the stuff to get to the thing

I think this is a good Lenten practice.

Pushing though the stuff to get to Him.

To eliminate and concentrate to focus on the thing(s) that I should.  Yes, there are the disciplines of prayer and praise.  Of rehearsing truths. There is also the part of the moving forward into a direction He seems to be leading.

And I can’t get there for all the stuff. Not clutter, not messy, just the extra stuff that distracts. I am having trouble pushing though the stuff to get to Him.

Can that be a Lenten practice? Keeping the main thing the main thing. Focus on the leading from Him.  Not succumbing to distractions?  Maybe it is not “spiritual” enough but this is one gal who is going to give it a try!

Blessings, Linda

 

http://www.aholyexperience.com/  Linked here “Walking With Him Wednesdays”

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in books, Celebrations, Discipline, Easter, home, Lent, Ministry, Prayer, Refining, Reflection, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pushing Through to Him

  1. I like to sift through the excess during lent too…it’s a great way to give away things we don’t use and find a better home for them. I like the term, “pushing through”. In my house, it puts me in mind of a bulldozer ;). Yep. That’s what I need ;). Blessings to you as you push through.

Leave a Reply

