Post Game

For a family who is around each other a lot, we haven’t had much time in the same room engaged in the same activity in a while.  No worries.  We know how to remedy that. Not the obvious way. Oh no. It was a night together over THE Super Bowl with one of the guys’ teams playing.  Admittedly, we were going to have folks over but then I realized one of THE teams were playing.  Thankfully, THE other team was not.

If you have any sports nuts, oops, I mean, fans in your house it is not always pretty. This year they were  practicing the exercise of self-control. That may not have been possible if the other sports nut was here.  He was 5 hours away.

Seriously, it was a fun family evening.  The best part for me as THE mom was I was relieved of cooking duties by Will.  He is a great cook.  It was so yummy!

Love Bug asked the Dad what were the colors. She clearly is not a fan of any team but our very own home team.  She changed. The Dad changed to his jersey gifted by one of the sons. The love gals, Will and I had our pj’s on.  and I put on my pj’s.  I was secretly so glad it was just us because I was still pretty tired from a seminar I led on Saturday and Sunday church and other activities.

So the 5 of us settled in total comfort to watch the commercials. Oh, I mean the game.

It was my first full game in several years.  I made sure I saw the Star Spangled Banner song by Kelly.  She nailed it.  But what do I know. I thought Steven Tyler was fine. An old gravely throated rocker. Did he miss a word or too?  Really, I think it is okay.  He seems to be a patriot unlike some who have sung.  It wasn’t out of disrespect. Quick, what are the words?  Anyway, he is a rocker and sang it exactly like I anticipated.

Kelly’s was clear and clean, She belted that out like the true songstress she is. Thank you Kelly.

This sign was our only decoration. No fancy table scape last night. Usually there is a tablecloth, colorful paper napkins and fancy platters.

Instead we attacked the chicken nachos right out of the oven straight from the cookie sheet!  And were they yummy!   We even had Sprite plus coke.  While I wasn’t looking the girls made sprite floats. It was fun food night.

That was the pregame food.

The half- time meal was French onion soup.  Julia Child’s recipe.  So good. Total comfort food and Love Bug’s favorite.

The chocolate chip cookies went begging we were so full.

Sorry, Madonna. You were boring. I don’t care about the lip-syncing, the almost falls. The poor woman could barely get her leg up.  It was painful to watch. And it was boring! Too bad.

Oh yeah, the game.  A fun one to watch. A nail bitter and floor pacing one.  Lots of big breaths.  Then the win!

It wa a fun family night!

Blessings, 

Linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in home, Menus, Tablescapes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

