listen

Listen.

What does that bring to mind?  For a history major former homeschooling mom, the first line of an American poem.

Listen my children and you shall hear of the midnight ride of Paul Revere.”

What and attention grabber!  Add some great voice inflection of anticipation and I am hooked!

I wish I was a better storyteller.  There are some great ones in my family…my great uncle, Steamboat.  I have no idea why.  My Uncle Son.  Just so you know my mom was called “Sister”  by many family members even after her death.  Not only were they from the rural parts of Arkansas, they had kind of strange names. I have no idea why. But others had odd biblical names too. My brother has the gift of entertaining gab too.  It missed me.

I am practicing so I can tell the greatest story even without too much academia or sputtering or stumbling.

Listen my friend and I will tell you of …

Listen

Listen Linda, I want you to hear my whispers to your heart.

Listen my daughter, I love you. I have great things for you, even at this late decade of your life.

Listen my dear for my peace.

Listen to my truths.

Gosh with sweet somethings like that why would I ever listen to soul withering lies?

I do not know but I do.

Listen…

A skill I am lacking.  I often, way to often don’t listen well to my girls; to my sons, to my husband. I miss details.  I often miss the meaning and worst of all

I miss their hearts.

Listen, sh, just listen…quiet now. Are  you listening because I have heard you and now listen.  Sh, don’t fret or worry.

Listen.

Listen

listen
listen

are you?  am I?

Listen, listen to Me, and eat what is good,

and your soul will delight in the richest of fare.  

Isaiah 55:2b 

 

I am linking to The Lettered Cottage  “Word of the Year”.

 


 

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Discipline, His Love, Prayer, Refining, Reflection, Truth, Uncategorized, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to listen

  1. oh the blessings when we simply stop and listen… thank you for sharing!
    I had fun looking through your blog, I too am a China mom:)

  2. Stephanie says:

    I struggle to listen, as well. How often do I miss their hearts…!! How often do I miss my own heart, God’s heart. Sit and listen. I will go and do this right now— expecting some rich fare!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

