inconvenience & my heart

 

Funny how encouragement comes to us when we don’t “want” to do something that inconvenience us and our plans.

Our guests were deeply moved by the Christmas morning service.  For the one widow and her children refugees from a hostile land found the words of hope. The welcome she receives is an encouragement toward understanding this Hope that is offered freely.

A family still on a journey toward Him…searching for faith and hope and His peace.

We planned ahead.  We had breakfast ready more quickly than usual.  We not only laid out cookies the night before we also laid out our clothes.  Everyone was up.  We tend to be sleepyheads on Christmas morning.  All the presents were opened; we all ate and we all left in time! Wow!

I wasn’t thrilled about Jim picking up our visitors. It meant instead of part of a row we would need a whole one.  Tragic I know.  As it was, my sons ended up on the row behind us. I was afraid he would end up inviting them over; taking them to a store or something. Yeah, that old  nemesis that leads me away from peace, being inconvenience. Not very open thinking in my heart.  I had to do an attitude heart check.  A step back.  Quit borrowing “trouble”.  I wanted our morning to be ours.  Not exactly the reflection of “for God so loved the world…” is it?

Instead, none of those things happened. Silly of me to think this regardless if they did or not.  Instead, eyes were bright; scripture was read and songs were sung.

 

The bells handed out as a reminder of the reason for this celebration chimed together as we sang Ring the Bells of Christmas!”   

First, a few rang their bells and the sound moved across the congregants.  It was a lesson in contagion.  A lesson in catching.

My hope is many caught His love and hope and peace that morning right there in that large auditorium and still are holding on to it.

My tiny self perceived inconvenience was so worth it.  For my own heart and I can’t help but believe others too.

The impact of that still ripples…joy is contagious.

Peace and hope can be had!  Come on, rings those bells again and again.

 

 

Turns out, it was not an inconvenience after all.

Blessings, Linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Christmas, family, Ministry, Reflection, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to inconvenience & my heart

  1. Jamie says:

    Beautiful, Linda! I love the story of your Christmas morning and the pictures along with it. Thank you for sharing from your life.

  2. I am becoming more and more convinced that the interruptions in our daily lives — i.e. the inconveniences — are indeed the real work that God has for us.

    Ringing the bells with you tonight … So glad to read your story. So glad you linked in community.

Leave a Reply

