Joy

 

Making cookies this year.  It has been a peaceful activity!  Yes, peaceful.  All by myself… during the day. Christmas music playing. No appointments. Okay, I did get my hair colored yesterday.  I sat relaxed with my coffee and Kindle. Feeling a deep kind of

JOY

this year. I’m not sure why exactly.  Maybe working with folks who have so little has made me more aware of the bounty we have even when I think we are “short”. It has made my gratitude deeper.  Maybe the art of practicing “Shema” statement this year.  Speaking fo Him to others by just expressing thanks for a good day or other same things. A heightened awareness. Maybe the

joy

of the year…son off to grad school, twin granddaughters, friends from far away visits, learning more about Him as I looked at my life through a new set of lens. I could go on.  Struggles have come; He sustained us.  He had made me glad.

Last night for the team meeting everyone brought cookies to share. Today I am taking some to a refugee family who is reading the Bible I gave them.  This season peeks a lot of interest in others who do not share our

joy.  

Yes, it is commercialized.  But in my heart, it is not. Celebration of a birth of a baby who came to save the world. No matter how you look at it; that is what Christmas is!

I look around and see decorations of

joy.  

Tartan, angles, twinkling lights, red, green and snowflakes.  Blue with silver.  Songs of hope.  I love this time of year.  I know the history of Saint Nicholas and Good King Wenceslas.  Thanks to Albert and Victoria’s annual trip to Scotland and his German traditions, we have many of our own today.  Tartan and Trees. 

 

 

I have been to the Christkindlemarkt in Nuremberg. The Christkindle Angel from 34 years ago tops our tree each year.  The German Christmas markets tingle with anticipation each year.  It was a trip of

joy

to go each year there or in Stuttgart where we were stationed so long ago. We made regular treks downtown for wurst and gluhwein and to store up the

joy

for the days ahead.

Heck, our living room has been carefully decorated to coordinate with Christmas.  One year many houses ago, it was blue and looked terrific with the gold and silver angels and very old crèche. But mostly I use green with red. I love red. I love my new cookie spatula that has red handle. My red mixing bowl with a handle that was a birthday present from my daughter and family. Even my mouse is red! Did I mention I love Christmas time.

Concerts and gift exchanges.

 

 

Platters of tasty treats sweet and savory.  Special dishes. Yep! I have those too.

 

 

But all of this is fun and activity speaks to the “creative and love of beauty” part of me is not why I love this time of year. It merely enhances the celebration of the birth of a baby.   

 

And you will have joy and gladness,                                                                        

and many will rejoice at His birth.

 Luke 1:14

 

May you have joy and gladness and be rejoicing at His birth this year.

 

Blessings, Linda

 

I am participating in Tabletop Thursday at http://betweennapsontheporch.blogspot.com 

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Christmas, Advent, family, His Love, home, Seasons, Tablescapes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Joy

  1. shelia says:

    Hi Linda! Oh, what a wonderful post filled with JOY! What sweet little ones too!
    How marvelous that we have all these things in common. My mom gave me the Haviland dishes too!
    Thanks for popping in and I wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas.
    Be a sweetie,
    shelia 😉

  2. Denise says:

    Merry Christmas to you and your family! I feel joyful this year too. I didn’t “do” as much, yet it was fun to be with friends and family. (Well maybe not enough family was here, but we enjoyed ourselves). Blessings on the new year.

  3. Penny @ The Comforts of Home & Flea Market Makeovers says:

    Thanks for participating in my magazine poll! I have 3 of those Chinese buckets 🙂
    Penny

Leave a Reply

