Create Beauty

Earlier today I was reading from Jesus Calling, a small devotional book.  Today’s call is to

“worship Me in the beauty of holiness”

For many of us who need beauty; who sorely miss its absence we may find it in setting a beautiful table; making a meal that is also a feast for the eyes.  and we have that desire within us for beauty; to create.  It took me awhile to end the struggle with beautiful home….too much of my time; my focus, was it right to want this meaning is it ungodly.  Some would say yes but in my guilt ridden mind I did have spells of struggle.  How to combine my gift of hospitality with creating and a love for beauty? Call me slow.  I got it sometimes but I did get carried away with wanting or coveting.  I am not cured of that but much more mature that before.  It’s a journey.

What I have learned it this. God created me with a desire to create and to love beauty.  It is a desire I have that is God-given.  My guard must be up to not get carried away; to not covet and to not be consumed with the pursuit of the perfect…home, table, clothes, life!

What freedom! He made me this way. He will refine me in it as I journey with Him.

As I decorate with the love gals this evening, are we engaging in an act of worship; to create a place of beauty that may just reflect a sliver of His Glory and just maybe so are we? I think we will be.

I can’t wait to decorate and creating a special welcome for my family and my guests!

Thankful for

beauty

my love gals

bins of Thanksgiving decor

the fire pit outside

friends to worship with

Xrays

Doctors and therapists

nice waiting areas

warm sunshine on a cold day

the touch of my husband

the smile of my little sweet pea granddaughters

Love Bug’s smile of great joy


One thing I have asked from the LORD, that I shall seek:
That I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life,
To behold the beauty of the LORD
And to meditate in His temple.  Psalm 27:4

Blessings, Linda

 I am participating in Multitudes on Monday, 1000 gifts at A Holy Experience.                                                                                                                                       

                                                                                                                                    
About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Fall/autumn, family, home, Hospitality, Prayer, Tablescapes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

