Thoughts

Did you know you have 3000 thoughts a day? A commercial said so; it must be so.

Love Princess who was lounging on the couch after a hard day in middle school hearing the commercial said, with a touch of amazement,  “Only 3000?  I am sure I have more!”

In fact, many a mom may agree.  A friend told me this week that I was always thinking. Always processing.  Does that mean more that 3000 thoughts a day?

Yet, I wondered, like so many times, I began to tie it to God and my relationship with Him, His Glory and His ways.

How many thoughts a day does He have? How many are about me? About my kids, about others, about His children, about the world?  Too many to count I think.

Even scarier is not how many thoughts I have a day but what kind of thoughts are they?  The lies, the rants, the prayers, the plans, the reflective.

In evening prayers with the love gals, with their adult siblings eons ago, I prayed for the Holy Spirit to help them take every thought captive unto Him.  Those words are still spoken in the quiet of the night along with,

“Let the words of my mouth and the mediations of our hearts be acceptable to thee O Lord, our strength and our redeemer.”

Words of reminder so needed each day as we are bombarded with media and life. For me and for mine.

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith Jehovah, thoughts of     peace, and not of evil, to give you hope in your latter end.                     Jeremiah 29:11 ASB 

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,                                                       declares the LORD.                                                           Isaiah 55:8 ESV


About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Old Testament, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

