Faint Praise

Okay, I admit it! Faint praise is hurtful and defeating.

Today, I was the recipient of faint praise.

We were talking about how the weekly study was going. I am one of the teachers. Going of topic a bit, she named her favorite teachers, 2 of the paid church staff, professionals.

Okay, I know, I asked for it when I said light heartedly, at least I thought it was, when I said “Not me?”  Stupid, so stupid.

I was hurt and disappointed with her scramble to give an answer. I did want to be one of her best. Her approval of what I do and how I do it is so important to me, too important. I didn’t even make the cut it turns out.  And yes, I am still working on how to receive faint praise well.

Only as I began to process this conversation that included faint praise of my own teaching did it occur to me wonder “How does God feel about my own faint praise?” My conclusion is that it makes Him sad.

God does not scramble for answers. He doesn’t ask stupid questions. Yet He feels pain of the heart just like me (Genesis 6:6b…his heart was filled with pain). He is very plain-spoken. He wants our praise to be wholehearted and true.

“Faint praise is damning”is an old truism.  Faint praise is lukewarm, like spittle… you know… spit spewed out. Faint praise is pitiful.

I wonder why I can’t praise Him wiht the same thrill of excitement I feel when I discover something so utterly astounding in His Word? With the same love showered on a child? Why do I hold back> Sin, lack of humility, pride, fear…the list could go on. Holding back from the good is a tendency of mine.

So…what does God think of my faint praise?  Not much.

Wonder how God feels at my faint praise? Not appreciated.

So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth. Revelations 3:16 (EVS)

For the eyes of the LORD run to and fro throughout the whole earth,                  to give strong support to those whose heart is blameless toward him. II Chronicles 16:9a (EVS)

Blessings, Linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in His Love, Refining, Sin, Uncategorized, Worship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

