Artifacts of Living

I am a pilgrim.  Both literally as a wife of a military guy now retired and as an overseas “worker” and as one on a journey toward and with Him.  Some days it washes over me and consumes my thoughts as I reflect and remember.

As I do settle, I set mine and our family’s stone of helps, our Ebenezers through out our house. I set our stones of remembrances.  God has blessed us beyond….. Instead of a journal, we have our memories and our artifacts of living.

This is a globe that is outdated and is usually out of sight tucked away in our main room. I love it.  I bought it at an auction or flea market, can’t remember which, years ago. My husband wanted a large one that floated in the stand.

I soon found out not only were they hard to find; we could not afford such a thing and two typical suburban home would not accommodate one.  Too small.  Now if we had just bought that Victorian on the York River years ago.  Never mind that.  So when I found this aging simple beauty, I bought it.

The fading colors are soothing.

Being a world traveler of sorts, memories often float through my mind when I catch a glimpse of it or dust. Being a student of history, I wonder at the changes in boundaries and circumstances.

We leave there, we moved here.

He was there. He is here.  

A comfort and certainty for me and mine as we packed our worldly goods and move to the next place.  A comfort and certainty even as we sold most of our worldly goods to move overseas.  Our Ebenezers, our stone of help, our reminder He is always. 

“What in the world was a suburban girl doing in cosmopolitan Hong Kong” I wondered before we moved to Hong Kong. It was during its heyday. How in the world did that include being friends with a rock star’s wife who I met in Bible study?

Years in Europe. Years in East Asia.  Changes for me, changes in our family. Eighteen years of married life has been overseas. Three of our children have lived longer overseas than in the US. The boys count continents; they stopped with the country count years ago (of where they have traveled). Nancy’s husband was stunned when he found out at the bridal shower just how many times his wife to be had moved! His guess was 10; not even close! Ah, the life of a TCK or MK. Actually, there are lots of people out there just like us!

He was there. He is here. 

Now I am learning to settle in but not too much.  I am learning to love our house; to make it our own after using it as a stopping place over the last decade when we returned to the US for a visit.

I am claiming our old farmhouse as home knowing He is here.

He was there. He is here.                                                                                                                                                                

So we say with confidence,  The Lord is my helper; 

I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?

                  Hebrews 13:7               

Blessings, Linda                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      

I am linking with Musings on Monday at  A Holy Experience .                                                                                            

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in family, home, moving, Multitudes on Monday, New Testament, Old Testament, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Artifacts of Living

  1. stephanie says:

    Absolutely LOVED this post. My heart sung as I read… He was there. He is here.
    Love, love, loved it. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

