Foundation

Our home is over 200 years old.  Where we live, that is not so special.  It is a basic, simple farmhouse with two front doors; no one knows why; and a rock foundation. Some day it will crumble.  It has a lot to say to me about being a believer and God’s Word when I bother to look or think.

These last few weeks, I have been preparing for a course.  Soon I will fly west feeling  very independent and a bit lost. I rarely travel with out family or a friend.  I used to like being independent.  I don’t any more. I am not sure when that happened.  I still like time alone. I still like to be heard in discussions about significant things.  And after years of globe trotting I am content to be only short distances from my home.  But I would travel miles and hours for relationships or His kingdom. The more I live as part of a faith community; then more I am dependent on it.   It is interwoven into my life.  The more I miss parts of it when separated.

The workbook used for this training the trainer is called Walking with Christ.  It is taking me back to those bedrock foundational theological truths all believers should know.  These truths have formed my theology for my  journey though the vocabulary is one rarely used by me for years.

Recently, He has been beckoning me to study the Word frequently and deeply. So here I am. It is almost like the math refresher course my son bound for grad school will take. It is offered for those how have been out of school for a while. I am in a refresher course.  Since winter I have been reading the history books and now prophecy in the Old Testament.  Now a bit of basic theology.

It is stimulating and interesting to go back to the theological study of foundational truths years later.  I see and understand the deep there and the freedom in a different way.  Not necessarily more mature though I certainly am older; just different.  Now what is next for me; I cannot say. I love teaching the Word and  I love to study His Word and I know that will not stop as long as I am able. Though mature, I still am learning. And I love it!

“All men are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers of the field; the grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of the Lord stands forever.” And this is the word that was preached to you.” 1 Peter 1:24-25

Blessings, Linda


About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in His Love, Ministry, Reflection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

