Crazy Cheese Conversation with Mexican Lunch

I tasted the swiss through all the salsa, lettuce, peppers and chicken nicely wrapped in a tortilla. “Oh, I thought the white cheese was mozzarella but it is swiss.”  Hey, it’s been in the freezer awhile.

The boys were both home for Saturday lunch, not a common occurrence.  We skipped breakfast and went straight for lunch. I searched though the fridge and came up with Mexican.  It was nothing fancy; some ingredients were missing but delicious none the less.  Blueberries were sweet and the strawberries smoothies were yummy.  

Son #2 works in a sandwich restaurant.  He informs us he does not like provolone.

Crazy conversation ensues.

“I hate it when people order a sandwich and make all the changes.  You can’t tell the difference between cheeses.”

Son #1 “Oh oh ho, you just said you don’t like Provolone.”

With indigence, “I don’t but when you put lots of other stuff on the sandwich and heat it who can tell the difference.”

More nonsense follows.

And then, he inform us with a straight face, “ People ask for American cheese.” Shocking I know. And this is a sandwich shop after all, no a high brow gourmet place.  But they do have excellent sandwiches.   “No. I’m sorry;  we don’t have it.”   Why not? the customer asks.  I am sure even as he asks he know better. Servers and clerks usually are amazingly uninformed about corporate decisions.

Son #2’s mind answer is I don’t know;  maybe we are unAmerican. It’s processed, we have real cheese. Head shake, I have no idea. And why would you want American cheese when there is mmmm….provolone?!

Voice answer… “Sir, Ma’am, I am not sure but we do have a nice selection. Would you like something else?”

Belch #1 of the meal is heard loud and clear.  I, the mom, shake my head.  “You know Mom, it just slipped out.” “Couldn’t you at least close your month to hide it.”  “No, there it was before I realized it.”

Good grief!

Son#1 says with humor, No wonder you get stiffed on tips.  (By the way, they all do from time to time.)

Then he enters the cheese discussion.  Comment from Love Princess first lets us all know she like the cheddar swiss combo on her tortilla.  Love Bug says she can’t tell the difference in the tastes as she put more in her mouth.

“So why do you have different kinds of cheese? You could just have plain cheese and use food coloring if you can’t tell the difference.  Just add yellow food coloring.”

More nonsense.

Belch # 2 is not as loud as one of the princesses let it out.

Even more nonsense.  Just so you know we are not completely ignorant people we do discuss politics and sports sometimes.

Okay, that gets out of hand too.

Belch #3.

I am thinking I need a nap.

Belch #3.

I am thinking I need a nap.

Love Princess opens the dishwasher to empty, “Yao, it is so hot”  Evidently not too hot for Boomer the dog who is now licking the to hot to touch silverware.

I definitely need a nap.

Does this happen to you when your kids come home?  I can hardly wait for Monday and the family dinner with the visiting old Army friends and honorary grandparents.  After all the Colonel is the one who taught my kids to use napkin rings as monocles.

Have a restful Saturday. I intend too. I’ll need to be on my toes for Monday!

Blessings, Linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in family, home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

