Women Daring for God

garden of the gods

 

I spent last week with seven amazing women.  Out of the comfort zone for some. Daring to risk for Him.  Daring to boldness in taking the opportunity. Daring to trust for the finances. Daring to be more fully His.

The setting…a home with a view of Pike’s Peak.  The hosts shared their large home with us.  We were together 24-7! Really. We shared rooms, meals and ourselves. The trainers were experienced and well prepared.

Daily we sat around the ping pong table and learned, shared and discussed. Our breakout times were intense with unity in Christ.  We were transparent, sharing our lives authentically.

At the old age of almost 60 what was I doing at training on how to lead and teach Bible studies. I want to do it better. Be more effective in ministering to women as we explore and study His Word together.

I am a lifelong learner. I love to teach especially from the Bible. Should I tell you how many studies I have attended, lead? How many went well? Instead, I share the first time I lead a Precepts study.

It was in Hong Kong eons ago.

I literally had to move to the other side of the globe to attend PUP leader training. It was the Precepts team’s first trip too. In the end, I was the only attendee who had taken a PUP course. Some women came to me at my home and asked me to lead a group; to teach them.  Laughable. And somehow I felt it was an opportunity to not be missed.

Picture this, all were older.  Over half were missionaries. All were hungry. Some tired. They wanted to be feed instead of feeding so much evidently they were will to sit through my some what feeble attempts and incompetence. The newer believers did not know any better. We answered every question as we moved around the circle.

A testimony to God’s Word not going out void inspite of us.

Now looking back, I see their investment in me and encouragement. Am I as gracious today?  I do hope so. Yet, putting young women in such a situation is risky. It could kill a desire. It could be devastating. Jesus spent 3 years training His guys.  Could there be a clue in that?

Practice has improved my teaching effectiveness. I do pretty well. This seems to be my next step in life.

I have always wanted and have tried  to help other women be better prepared to share, teach, lead and facilitate small group studies.

 mimi’s restaurant

ENTRUST training has given me more skills & tools & a plan to do this.

And I can’t wait to see when and where God will give me opportunities to train others! A seminar, a training class, a word here and there?

I have never been a fan of reinventing the wheel if there is something out there that does the same thing. I am not above combining, twittering with or tweaking either.

Knowing this type of training is needed for our churches, for our sent ones (missionaries), finding a “program” that is transferable seemed daunting. The how to discussions with our women’s ministry director and my husband was a start. Then I was asked to attend this. I went almost blind as to what I was going to.

No matter; it was WORTH IT!

  women daring for God

The training involved a day of travel there and one back, 8 days of training, homework before and on site (lots of it! and it did include a topical study book, Entrust’s Walking with Christ). I put in hours of preparation weeks before attending.

Included was planning for sharing and implementing when we go back. That forced us to process and think, “How will this work in my situation, how to present a plan to the leaders and how to implement.” Wow! How valuable is that?  One woman was a professional consultant in team building for big corporations, another shared the plan her church uses. Divine appointment were going on…all week!  Their input was invaluable. We all added and shared. Iron sharpening.

Combining this with some of my life experiences and other training, I hope will provide a start for an ongoing process others can take and use in ministry with great effectiveness as we share the good news of Jesus Christ, disciple and teach others.

 more wild women for God

Daring  to do some implementing myself and

asking others to join me!

 

 

Blessings, Linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Bible, Hospitality, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Women Daring for God

  1. stephanie says:

    How terrific is this!! …I so loved reading about all you are doing and experiencing…

  2. Denise says:

    This sounds so perfect for you! I only wish I could have been there. I just finished a six week 40 min. Precepts class here, it was lots of fun.

  3. Jane says:

    What a wonderful way for women to connect. Inspiring!

Leave a Reply

