My new plan is to…

Yes, I have a new plan! It is to plan!  

Did you get that?

My new plan is to plan!

And to follow through!

I know it is not original but I think in this case that is okay.  Today I am tackling menu planning for the week keeping in mind though I love to cook and try out new recipes I need to keep it simple and doable!  I just don’t have the time these days. There are other things I rather do and then there are those things I must do such as rearranging cabinets so I can put the stuff that was finally unpacked from our move last July that arrived here in March…that stuff.

I have  done menu planning on paper many different times and seasons in our family’s life. But now it is time for another fresh start! The days are being dragging out. Time slips through my fingers and supper is not ready before 6:30 or even later.  Not good for love gals to get in bed, have reading time and time with Dad reading the Bible.

So as I searched and thought about a solution, it came to me! I am the culprit; it is not the dawdling and spending time in their room, not the homework or piano practice or the this or that.

It is me!

Frankly, we have never eaten so late! No wonder we’re all a bit off kilter. So…

The chicken is stewed. The spaghetti noodles are done and the mushrooms sautéed. I made it to the gym and picked up around the house too!  Took care of admin stuff and emails already.

I think I need a nap!

Monday

Chicken Tetrazzini

This is from a dear, dear friend of my mom’s.  We all really like it and think it is a treat.  Don’t tell; it is really easy.

Ingredients

      • 1 (16 ounce) packages  thin spaghetti
      • 1/2 cup chicken broth
      • 4 cups cooked chicken, chopped
      • 1 (10 3/4 ounce) can cream of mushroom soup
      • 1 (10 3/4 ounce) can cream of chicken soup
      • 1 (10 3/4 ounce) can cream of celery soup
      • 1 (8 ounce) containers sour cream
      • 1  pound fresh sliced mushrooms sautéed in butter or margarine
      • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, shredded
      • 1 teaspoon pepper
      • 1/2 teaspoon salt
      • 2 cups cheddar cheese, shredded    (reserve 1/2 – 3/4 cup for topping)
  1. Cook noodles al dente according to package directions; drain. Return to pot, and toss with chicken broth.
  2. Preheat oven to 350.
  3. Stir together chopped cooked chicken and other ingredients in a large bowl; add vermicelli and toss well.
  4. Spoon chicken mixture into two lightly greased 11 x 7 inch baking dishes. Sprinkle with Cheddar cheese.
  5. Bake, covered, at 350 for 30 minutes; uncover and bake 5 more minutes or until cheese is bubbly.
  6. Note: Freeze unbaked casserole up to 1 month, if desired. Thaw casserole overnight in refrigerator. Let stand 30 minutes at room temperature, and bake as directed.
 Lettuce Salad and crusty Italian bread

Tuesday

It is a busy day with the weekly morning study and babysitting grandkids (Hope to fit in a swim) 

Pot Roast with vegetables Cook in crock pot or heavy pan in oven.  My secret: add one pack of Lipton Onion Soup Mix, half a cup of water and time. Leave lots of time to cook so the meat is fork pull apart tender.  Good pot roast is not to be rushed.  Add chunky chopped carrots, celery (a must! ) potatoes.

Green Peas

Mom’s Style Cole Slaw
Chopped cabbage into thin small strips. Onions and carrots optional.  Sprinkle with sugar and vinegar. Wait for at least 30 minutes. I don’t know why; it is how my mom did it.  Add some mayo and stir. Serve cold.

Biscuits (Pillsbury can or frozen are yummy!  We prefer the Grands.) I hardly even make biscuits from scratch since our return.

Wednesday  

Last Wednesday night dinner at church before summer break

Thursday

Hoping this is similar to a meal I loved in my college days at “The Cat’s Meow” on Columbia Avenue, in an old house near the first Ruby Tuesday’s, also in an old house.  Yes, I am that old!

It will be pre-made because I am going on a girls’ only outing with my Precepts Bible Study group.  I just know I will be too popped to pop when I get home!

Sour Cream Noodle Bake   from Pioneer Woman

Friday

Grilled Sirloin Steak marinated in soy, Worcestershire sauce and garlic

Grandpa’s Hash Brown Casserole

  1. 1 32 oz bag defrosted hash brown potatoes
  2. 1 can cream of chicken soup
  3. 1 medium onion chopped fine
  4. 8 oz sour cream
  5. 12 oz grated block American or mild cheddar cheese
  6. 2 sticks of margarine or butter
  7. 1 teaspoon salt
  8. 2 cups crushed corn flakes

Put hash browns in 12×9 casserole dish.  Mix soup, onion, sour cream, salt, cheese and one stick of margarine / butter melted together.  Spoon over top of potatoes.  Top with crushed corn flakes and drizzle with melted margarine / butter.  Bake 40 -45 minutes at 350.

Asparagus sautéed in olive oil and lemon

Portuguese bread  

Saturday

Grilled Pork Chops  with Apple  Chipotle Sauce from TJ Maxx

Wild Rice

Broccoli

Tomato and Cucumber Salad with mozzarella Cheese and Italian dressing

Blessings,

Linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in family, home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My new plan is to…

  1. I’m going to make your chicken tetrazzini recipe. Best of luck with your turning over a new leaf to do menu planning.

    Two weeks ago I read some posts on menu planning and spent 20 minutes or so penciling in meal ideas for my week. Do you know what happened? I lost the paper I’d written everything down on. As in lost. Never found it the whole week. That was my brief menu plan experiment!

    This post encourages me to give it another try!

    • omega57 says:

      I do hope the chicken was good and your family enjoyed it. I so identify with your situation. Losing papers is my “middle name.” Hang in there!

  2. Cindy Nakamura says:

    I love lipton onion soup pot roast!

Leave a Reply

