Fairy Tales Can Come True

  Little Boubba’s Photos – Wall Photos

 “Fairy Tales can come true they can happen to you if you’re young at heart”….so the song says.

I laughed when I saw this …at the cousins.  The love gals and I immediately pegged them on our first view of the wedding guests’ arrival as the step sisters from the musical with Brandy in these outrageous tacky ill-fitting outfits.  We had not seen Cinderella in awhile so forgot what they went to the ball in.

My son said “Well, they had to get the idea from somewhere.”  These uniforms haven’t changed much at all over the last 150 years at least.  Didn’t you see “The King’s Speech”?

But this is what this long time dreamer, lover of happy ending pretty romantic movies thinks.  We love the royals because they are the personification of our childhood dreams of princes and knights and beautifully clad women being swept off their feet and carried away to a life of well, we never really see that part too much but we love the idea of “happily ever after”, do we?

When I saw these pictures I knew why the simple bridal gown in a classic timeless style with out a very long veil was so very appealing to us all.  Somewhere deep in our memories this was the very embodiment of the classic Cinderella tale brought to us by Walt Disney.

That is why we didn’t say she should have had more veil, more jewels, more sparkle more….classic simplicity is always the best and most tasteful.  I think we had forgotten that.  And why we sighed at the royal Irish guard uniform and loved the complimentary black by its side.

My daughter on her wedding day

I had a solider by my side when I wed.  He was handsome in his blues and we left my home church of  English parish style through the arched doorway under crossed swords.  I had a piece of  a Cinderella dream that day. Still living happily ever after.
I am unabashedly a lover of beauty and romance and weddings!  I come by it honestly….Cinderella’s wedding was always the one to aim for!  I do hope they live “happily ever after”!

Blessings,

Linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fairy Tales Can Come True

  1. Love, love the pictures. Well done article.

Leave a Reply

