Stump Removal

The beauty of the day drew me and my camera outside yesterday.  And then I spied it; the stump.  Jim is putting a fence in with help from the big guys. First, before building, there is usually some removing to do.  In this case it was a thorny ugly bush.

Did you know when you pull a stump it leaves a hole?  Sometimes, when I start a project there are some results I should have anticipated because it is so obvious! But I don’t. Like there will be a hole when you pull up a stump.  And is there enough dirt to fill the hole up? Who knew?  And once you fill up the hole, there is a potential mud puddle!  Filling the empty hole with the right stuff is very important. Trust me on this.

I was in a reflective frame of mind.  It had been a rough morning for me of onslaughts and attacks from the enemy.  Going to a place of beauty is often a place I can turn my heart and mind toward Him and toward His peace.  It was the outside…blue sky, fluffy clouds, a big breeze.  And fresh green of the spring that had well watered the earth with rain.  It was perfect.

And there was that ugly brown stump with clumps of dried mud.

What a reminder for me to continue to remove those stumps with growing roots way before they grow and take hold.  Stump removal is hard work, sweaty work and usually takes a long time and different approaches. It mostly just fearless (because with Him there is no fear) diligence to see it through!

Now root removal needs deep digging and if it is too big, you need help.  We had to get help for the stump on the corner. It was big and had deep roots.  Sometimes it is not just big stumps. We had mint in one of our yards years ago. You know those danity sprigs in iced tea or used to flavor jelly, cookies and ice cream.  I hate mint plants. They spread and spread and threaten to take over your backyard.  It was a battle, seemingly impossible to get rid of it.  Those nice smelling plants were pesty. Without deep digging and sifting and new soil to get rid of those pushy plants our rather large yard would have turned into a mint farm!

After a morning of the lies that return in different forms from time to time, the visible was stark.  To not give up and to continue to dig away and pull it out!

See to it that no one fails to obtain the grace of God; that no “root of bitterness” springs up and causes trouble, and by it many become defiled…Hebrews 12:15

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

