Steady

I asked the love gals as they were headed out the door for school. “What are you thankful for?”  No explanation, no prompting, no letting them know we were going to go on the hunt for beauty and thankfulness.  They looked at me blankly.  We often say thank you to each other and to God daily in our prayers.  We mention when something strikes as from God with thanks.  But this is a new way.  It is based on the One Thousand Gifts bookblog and idea.

Finally, Amy said…”School?”  Hum.  Meg said with a grin, “Twins”.  We just had twins in our family; my daughter raised ourgrandchild count too three very early one morning last week.

Not only did the question give them pause; it did me too. Of course there are days when the beauty of what my eyes behold is endless.  Some days, I’m just not seeing it!  The intentionality of living I so aspire too has failed me here.

Those of us who are older may remember The God Hunt from David and Karen Mains. We became hunters, hunting for God in the ordinary, the extraordinary. It intentionaly trained and our children to see Him in all circumstances.  We kept a journal.  The Bible reference I used was from an Old Testament prayer of a king facing insurmountable odds from a enemy staging war against Israel and a stack of stones after a river crossing. A book of remembrance of how He has cared for us; loved us.

This looking for gifts is a twist on that.  Looking for Him in the tense, the horrible, the disappointing, the lonely, the tears and the glad and the glory!  Both are good to set down and remember.

As a historian, I valued the personal histories of people, of family and of people in the Bible.  When there are fires as one branch of my family had, much of the history is lost. Though personal histories can inspire me, noting and recognizing my own history in the making through the grid of His care is more than a comfort. It is  steadying force in the regrets, sadness, despair or depression.  In the spiritual crisis. Because though I am in crisis He is not and remembering how He took care of me and mine in the past steadies me and refocuses my heart eyes where they should be… on Him.

 

All the ends of the earth will remember and turn to the LORD, and all the families of the nations will bow down before him,  for dominion belongs to the LORD and he rules over the nations. All the rich of the earth will feast and worship; all who go down to the dust will kneel before him— those who cannot keep themselves alive. Posterity will serve him; future generations will be told about the Lord.  They will proclaim his righteousness,declaring to a people yet unborn: He has done it!  Psalm 22:27-31

 

 

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

