Faithful Service

Speaking of clean up,

I miss East Asia.

I learned much in East Asia.

The good, the bad, the ugly and the beautiful.

I used to enjoy house work, mostly, when I was young but after 13 years in East Asia I am find it is not nearly as enjoyable. The satisfaction of a tidy clean home is wonderful. It was a challenge in East Asia. We had a full-time maid, helper.  After all when the Gobi desert blows through your home, mold threatens to take over your home, all laundry is dried on a line in your apartment enclosed balcony/storage/ multi purpose space even on dreary winter days with no sunshine, meat bought by the hunks in plastic bags and all the veggies come with dirt from the farm and routinely scads of people come for dinner which we LOVED one needs help! In a big way.

And yes, we miss our friends terribly! We miss the scads of people coming through. We miss the seamless flow of ministry and daily living.

People here sometimes are envious of that, having a maid.  The pay is abysmally low but right in sync with the local economy. To have 2 working parents, kids, home school, minister, host regularly and offer hospitality, it just could not be done without these lovely women who make our work not easier but possible. I figure we had folks in our home for meetings, meals or sleeping about 2 weeks out of every month on average. That’s a lot of coffee and tea and food. And hours of wonderful challenging conversations full of strategic thinking and  iron sharpening iron and relationships.  Games and fun were part of living too.  And we loved it!!

I miss our helper. We had 2 over the years who ministered to our family with faithful service. Having someone in your home for hours is not always the easiest. One woman’s spirit was so negative, I literally felt relief and freedom as soon as she walked out the door after we let her go.  Whew!

I learned much about being a servant of Christ while being served by them.

To serve someone it to do it their way. To serve someone is to listen and follow the directions. To serve someone well is to love and respect them.  To serve well is to anticipate. To serve someone well is to be trustworthy and faithful. You know, dependable. To serve well is to be selfless. To serve well is to have a true heart.

And we love these amazing women. These women from different ethnic groups with little education were positive influences in the love gals’ lives too. One was a believer; the other not but did have a sweet spirit. We still have hope for her. Both cried with us when we left. One prayed with us as we sent all our goods to the warehouse for shipping.  I still miss them. I am still learning from them.

But be very careful to keep the commandment and the law that Moses the servant of the LORD gave you: to love the LORD your God, to walk in all his ways, to obey his commands, to hold fast to him and to serve him with all your heart and all your soul. Joshua 22:5

…Instead, whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be a slave of all. For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many. Mark 10:43b-45

 

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in family, Ministry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Faithful Service

  1. Sally Mittelstadt says:

    I so identify with you in this post.

    I had the same helper for 11 years. We were more family to her than her own kin and she was my daughter . . . the only one. My standards of housekeeping changed because of her. Even though I’ve been gone over 13 years now, I miss Esmer. We did wonders together – fed hundreds, moved houses, welcomed guests, trained other young women as helpers and served the Lord . . . together.

    I’ve known the other kind of helpers, too. Fortunately, the discomfort of their presence and the difficulties of their service have faded.

    I live differently and know more about serving the Most High because I have had the experience of live-in house help.

  2. stephanie says:

    I can’t tell you how many times I have said to my husband, “I miss Shurkiey”. Thanks for your thoughts on service, Linda. Good reminders of what service really is.

  3. omega57 says:

    A servant heart does much for the kingdom.

Leave a Reply

