The Rest of Christmas

I didn’t polish the silver.  We used the china setting on the dishwasher often. The tables were festive but easy to set.

I did not get one pie baked but cupcakes from Oregon Dairy delighted the young ones.  I did buy a cupcake “tree” to put them on. We had chocolate, yellow and red velvet.  And they were delicious. it was a delight to watch the girls carefully select which one  to eat!

My husband joked we were the last people in our township to get a Wii.   This year our gifts given were fewer and thought to be perfect for the receiver.  And we did not suffer for lack in any way at all!!

Love Bug did her shopping on the last day of the Holiday Shoppe at school and had the best gifts ever! Each person was lovingly considered and the perfect gift was selected. Amazingly, everything she wanted was still there. Hers were the first under the tree.

Our table was full of delicious food.  It gave new meaning to the groaning board.  Diets all round after new year!  Not for the Love gals though!  They are just about perfect already and still growing.

Our hearts were thankful for His birth.  God like celebrations. In fact He ordained 3 in particular for the Israelites.  I find it fascinating that He not only said to rest on the 7th day but also later included hand in hand with those festivals that no unnecessary work is to be done during the festival days!  We do take time for the celebration and do our best to avoid working.  This year that meant less decorations, less shopping and less going out.  And more time for the tiny Love gal!!

My brother and family left this morning. My daughter and family are near by in their own home doing those projects.  Her husband gets to go to Home Depot or Lowe’s, fun for him.  It was a quiet day and not one bit of picking up was done though I did keep up with the dishes. Tomorrow..tomorrow the holiday recovery will begin.  In the meantime we are off to Barnes and Noble and the local dinner for dinner.  It will be a quiet night for us.

Blessings,

Linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Baby, Celebrations, Christmas, Advent, family, home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Rest of Christmas

  1. stephanie says:

    Sounds like a sweet, sweet day! Made my heart smile.

  2. Jane says:

    What a yummy looking cupcake tree! And, alas, I believe I may be the last blogger out there without a Wii. Lucky you!

  3. Linda,
    It is lovely to have a glimpse at your Christmas and your family! I miss you. If you want to have coffee before bible study starts up again, just give me a call or an e-mail.
    Happiest Of New Years!
    xo Yvonne

Leave a Reply

