Road Trip… Fun and Cold!

Road Trip!

It was a milestone. Our first international trip without plane tickets. Passports, check, wedding guest finery, check. Tissues, check.  All set.  Off we go… to Canada.

Jim wanted to know why I was packing so much. My response?  “I am going to a foreign country!”  He just shook his head and said “Remember… my back.”

Okay, I did not pack shampoo. But guess what? It turns out they have shampoo!

I am laughing at myself because old habits die-hard.  Many trips to remote, have nothing much locations make me  pack odd things.  We may forget passports or shampoo but never the tissues!  Lots of pocket-size tissues.

It seems while we were overseas, GPS’s with voice have become common place.  “Heidi” , our son’s came with us and was very firm in telling us where to go. Love Princess was fascinated and thought Heidi should be able to converse so on long trips you would not be talking to only yourself.  (She’s never heard of Kit in the “Knight Rider”) Her dad and I suggested talking to God but she said it wouldn’t be smart because you have to close your eyes. Clearly, we need to learning more about prayer. Yes, we did then too. Would that be a teachable moment?

The absolute best thing was the truck stop for gas. “What ?” you seasoned USA road travelers might be saying.  Well, parts of Asia are not known for excellent road  facilities. The squatty potty is an experience.

Us international travelers really know how to appreciate the good things in life! The clean things, the convenient things. the junk food!

Yummy indulgence!  Combos with processed cheese and jalapeno.  Real Cheetos!

And something called Punch…straws made out of chewy candy.  King Sized! Pretty doggone fun for us!!

On Goat’s Island, we walked, listening to the roar.

We peered over fence at the ice and mist awe-struck! Wonder at His creation!

We were thankful  for the lights too.  And we were COLD!

We were COLD!

The changing lights were great.  Light is always a good thing.  And we were COLD.  My camera was COLD.

We gingerly ran back to the car because we were COLD!

What a way to begin a fun time of celebration with friends! And we were especially thankful for the car heater!

Merry Christmas!

Linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Road Trip… Fun and Cold!

  1. This was probably the shortest international trip you have ever taken.
    What a darling post. I just love your little girls. ADORABLE!!!!

    Niagria Falls looks gorgeous all frozen and with the colored lights.
    Hoping you had fun!
    Merry and blessed Christmas, Linda! Maybe I’ll see you at the Christmas Eve service.
    xo Yvonne

    • omega57 says:

      They are also very taken with you! Children always respond well to folks who are interested in them! And I appreciate that as a mom. We had lots of fun on our trip.
      Have a wonderful Christmas with all your family! See you tonight.
      Love, Linda

Leave a Reply

