Thanksgiving Mishaps

First on my post Thanksgiving to do list is figuring out the self clean oven feature.  It is definitely needed.  There are just some things that the only response is laughter!

We had a quiet one but memorable for what did not go “right”!   The pumpkin pie was beautiful and tasted awful I tried to do too much all at the same time.  I was missing my loaned out food processor; the Kitchen Aid mixer conked out as I was making my typically no fail Julia Child pie crust recipe that failed me!  The cute little leaves from the Williams Sonoma pie press cutters were cute around the edges. Love Bug did a great job of that!  My pride was hurt…making a pumpkin pie has always been a snap for me!

The turkey juice leaked and smoke engulfed our kitchen.  The mid afternoon meal was delayed to evening because I neglected to turn the oven back on after turning it off for a quick wipe to slow down the smoke!  Love Princess mixed the traditional southern cornbread dressing. The taste was unaffected by the greasy oven.

In spite of all of that, the important things happened, fellowship, loving on each other, hanging out playing board games watching the Macy’s parade and very little football.  The food with the notable pie exception was tasty.

Love Princess discovered Black Friday plus it was her birthday. Love Bug joined us. So off to the mall we went. She observed it was not as crowded as she expected.  Hum… those years in Asia has given us a different perspective of what a crowd really is! Lunch at TGI Friday’s was nostalgic for us. We had not eaten in a Friday’s for several years. It was a favorite place for celebrations when we lived in Asia.  Our city did not have any other choices of US chains.

The rest of the weekend was quiet. We put up the decorations, rearranged the dishes putting the Turkey ones away and replacing them with the Christmas ones.  I love my morning coffee in the Christmas cups.  No decorations out so far.  Friends came for an overnight.  We talked and ate leftovers and they played Settlers and Lord of the Rings Risk.  Yesterday the girls and I lingered at Barnes and Noble after lunch out.  Our guys headed home of the Steelers game.

We enjoyed the 5 F’s.  Looking forward to the celebration of Advent in the days ahead.

Blessings,

Linda


About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Fall/autumn, family, home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

