Unexpected Worship

 

 

 

 

Summer time in “HOT-lanta” was fun and hot.  We sought coolness with Uncle Bill and daughter Ree at the Georgia Aquarium.  What is it about aquarium that captures our imagination?

The beluga whales were full of grace and beauty.  Effortlessly, they and other creatures of the sea swam in the deep blue tank waters. Is anything so cute as penguins? I think not! Why is it when penguins waddles it is cute and when I feel like I am waddling, I feel most definitely not cute! Trainers with the small seals doing tricks bring laughter to all who watch. As these cute animals peeked around the corners looking for toys and treats, we peeked with them waiting for fun.

Only a God who loves fun too could possible have created these fanciful creatures.

The symphony of the moon jellies played to an enchanted audience. Our breath was stilled. It was a book coming to life, Night of the Moon Jellies.

But some of the creatures are ugly and scary. The lion fish is amazing to view but no touching! The poison is deadly.  A reminder to beware of the lust of the eyes.  Not all things that are beautiful are good.

The last sight and the last of the batteries and memory cards were filled at the “take my breath away” exhibit. The tropical fish tank! The hallway was darkened and there was no warning as I turned the corner. There it was. A  huge tank full of colors beyond the imagination. I gasped. Yes, I gasped. I can still see wonder and have my breath taken away! I am not to old or jaded to not be moved by His Creation.

My eyes could barely take it in. I wanted to kneel right there in worship. Not of the creation but of the Creator. He is worthy.

I did not know I had come to worship Elohim.

My summer was made.  Sure, we had more fun and wonder ahead of us. After all, the easy living of summer gives us enough time for pause. But I had beheld wonder and beauty and I was awed. A glimmer of Him. Could I ask for anything more?

Great are the works of the LORD,
studied by all who delight in them.
Full of splendor and majesty is his work,
and his righteousness endures forever. Psalm 111:2

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in family, Uncategorized, Worship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

