September Sunflowers

You can tell it is almost officially fall.  The farm season does not always follow the calendar though.  We know it is fall because the sunflower heads are in the market…at the park, coming down the street in a three wheeler.  Those giant heads full of seeds are everywhere.  The love gals pluck the seeds out and enjoy the fun of it! They crack open the shells and spit them out and eat.  Snack food at the park, while watching a movie.  This is nothing like the sack my son insisted on having for every baseball game. (I never quite got that.)  And Love Bug likes them too. I could never convince her to select the bag of shelled seeds.

See the lady on the three wheeler coming up behind us.  After the picture I turned and pointed, “Look sunflowers!”

She saw me and quickly maneuvered through the traffic.

Love Bug looked and selected one.  Her cart was a feast of colors and textures.

It must have been a bountiful harvest.

The eating patterning was well thought out.

No random plucking.

Yes, fall is here!

Hope you are enjoying the special things of fall? What are those unique things done in your area that you love about fall?

Blessings,

Linda

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Fall/autumn, home, Seasons. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to September Sunflowers

  1. Chari says:

    Hi Linda…

    Ohhh…what fun! Those are some really BIG sunflowers, my friend! You know, I live in the northeastern corner of Colorado and a few of our local farmers grow sunflowers but they have been harvested by now. I don’t ever recall eating the seeds right from the flower though. I think that I have been missing out…especially after seeing that pretty patterned sunflower! Hehe! I bet everyone has so much fun during the sunflower harvest! Thank you for sharing the festivities with us!

    I also wanted to thank you for stopping by and taking a peek at my Autumn Enchantment table and mantel! I really enjoyed your visit and your sweet note! Thank you!!!

    Warmest autumn wishes,
    Chari @Happy To Design

  2. Linda, we grew sunflowers when we were kids and loved eating them! I had forgotten how large they are! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and commenting. My parents did the same thing with me. Problem is, we are downsizing(hopefully) to a smaller house & I’m wondering what to do with all of this stuff! If the market continues like this, though, I won’t have to worry about it!

Leave a Reply

