Daughters of the King

They were meant to be grafted into our family before they ever arrived home. Adopted as joint heirs. Approved by their older siblings to be joined with us. Planned by Him.

I cradled her every night. I sang “Blessed Assurance”.

One night my arms were tired.  My son told me, “You are the “Mom’ “!  He invoked the most important title I have ever held. I heard. I was the “Mom”. I listened.

She was less than 5 pounds. She was only days old, 75 days.  She had a cleft palate. She had to eat every 2 hours but was too tired to finish for weeks.  I prayed she would survive.

She would gaze in my eyes, even as a tiny underfed premie, saying

“You are your mommy and I am home.”

And she was.  No one would hold her but me and her dad.  Fear of breaking her held them back. That ended quickly. She was so fragile. But with a will to live, a will to love, endlessly.

Their older brothers and sister loved them well, loved them protectively, loved them gently. Still do.  To see how they love these gals, their sisters is breathtaking!

How much we have learned about His breath taking love for us is unmeasurable!

“I have loved you with an everlasting love;

I have drawn you with loving-kindness.” Jeremiah 31:3


About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in family, His Love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daughters of the King

  1. Yoon Newman says:

    lovely. thanks for sharing that. so very beautiful things in our lives to enjoy and reflect on. So thankful to be a part of your lives, esp the girls.

  2. Such a beautiful post! Isn’t adoption just the PERFECT picture of our Father’s love for us 🙂

    Blessings to your family!
    Gail

Leave a Reply

