Memories in Head and Heart

The past month was a dozy with sorting, separating and selling years of memories.

Okay, in the end, those things were just furniture, home school books, DVD’s,

videos, some art and other years of

memories.

 

 Oops, I mean things.

 

We are meant to move; it is time.

Reminding ourselves

as we make piles of our possessions,

we can take whatever we want, within reason.

It does cost to ship after all.

It is a collection of over a decade.

I feel like Annie and Nina when they moved

after George stupidly sold their home of decades,

a lifetime.

Remember

Nina took whole roll of pictures of the tree.

Today not being limited by a roll,

we will have lots to cull through later.

(Father of the Bride 2)

I take lots of pictures! An understatement!

Two days before we returned

to our other home, my new computer hard drive crashed.

I lost all the vacation photos and a few others.

The external hard drive was sitting next to it, ready for plug in.

I am snapping like crazy and saving too.

Jim gets a chuckle over Love Princess assuring him she and her sister know
where they found every rock and shell.
Fortunately, shipping costs are based on cubic meters, not weight.

My sweet Love Princess reminded me;

our memories are in our heads.

It’s okay we don’t have our pictures.

The memories are in our heads… and hearts.

But she still wanted her rocks and shells

collected from far and wide.

Selling videos; some we have had since the older now adult kids were little.

So many books. We all chose our favorites.  Almost no limit there. We love books!

Will I forget to snap that one thing we’ll want to

remember?


Will I carry a camera everywhere, to take all those photos?

Will I

remember?

Reflecting on old travel books,

there are magnificent photos

which is amazing

because they had to cart glass plates

on camel, donkey, horse or cart

to get to place we hop on a flat bed truck too

and hold our breath around the hairpin curves.

Our home has 3 digitals.

I hope for the

magnificent!


A good reminder.  As our little family makes a major live transition,

we will

remember.

Good times, frustrating times, angry times,

sad times and sweet times of

amazing faithfulness to us from God.

Absolutely amazing.

 Now those are some kind of

memories!

Blessings,
Linda
 

tuesdays unwrapped at cats

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in family, home, Tuesdays Unwrapped. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memories in Head and Heart

  1. Denise says:

    Packing up and moving can be so hard. It looks like your family is doing it well. I will be thinking of your family during this transition.

Leave a Reply

