Unfinished Wicker

Do you wait to begin a project when your husband is out of town because you know he will say, haltingly,

“O k a y, w h y?”  I do… sometimes.

The girls and I went to examine options of spray paint.  Advise from friends was considered.  Too bad I could not find coral but we did like watermelon…in the store. After selecting some greens and yellows, we headed home.

I thought some kind of green would be great!

I did the first one, leaving samples of the sage and moss.  Still needs work.

Jim made it home and said, “Oh, you painted the wicker. O k a y, w h y?  D i d n’ t   you like the white?”  Well, I thought some color would be nice.

“ Okay sweetie, whatever makes you like, I like. I love it.”  I didn’t exactly tell him I liked it.  Because I don;t yet!  He did tell me which green he liked.

We have an old farm house with red brick with an orange rust cast.  Not all colors look right with the old brick. Then style and age has to be considered too. Plain late 18th / early 19th century plain. I love bright colors but not all go; they look very forced.

After a second trip to the store, the spray can total came to about 20 cans with 3 greens, 2 yellows, 1 watermelon colors.

Love Princess and Love Bug hate to be left out of any fun!

They had a gift to offer to be allowed, masks.  Aren’t we charming?  I was so uncharming no photos will be posted of me!

Despite the ease of spray painting wicker, we did not finish.  Luckily when it comes to wicker, I am not a perfectionist.

A week later, all 4 of us left for 3 months of international business travel with one chair 2 shades of green, sage and moss, one pistachio and another yellow squash unfinished. I left without looking back or regret. No stress over not finishing, no concern for perfection. And pictures will be taken when finished!

The squash colored one ended up in the from room, looking grand with the brick wall.  The green ones are on the back porch. They aren’t going anywhere. They wait to welcome us back, waiting for an early morning sitting just Jim and I.

Blessings,

Linda


About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unfinished Wicker

  1. Just wanted to say Hi!
    And thank you for your thoughts on my blog!
    I appreciate your words. Very much!
    I pray you have a wonderful rest of the season-you are welcome to my home anytime!
    Hugs!
    Blessings to you as you make you home–or spray paint! 😉
    ~me

Leave a Reply

