Careless

Have you ever been careless and broken a favorite cup or vase?

A favorite friend or loved one?

I have.

Today my heart is aching over carelessness in a relationship between two people dear to me. It is a difficult situation and thorny to be sure. Have the harsh angry vindictive communications brought it to the point of no return? Sadly, it is at the point where the issues can not be addressed until the heart attitudes are. Yet so intertwined.

Often “bathing with prayer” is the only help we can give in a seemingly unsolvable situation with stubborn hurt people. Years ago, my mom told me when loved ones were having words, she would keep on her knees until the situation changed. She knew there was no other way. You know what? It did change and there was healing and reconciliation.

Hearts and speech can only be changed as we chose to lay aside ourselves and act in humility. We need a willingness to be quick to listen, to be slow to speak and to be slow to be angry.  Heart change, humbling ourselves for the good of the other person, for the good of the Body can only come from our surrender and His Spirit working.

To be like Christ can be humiliating. Do we need to recall that He Himself was willing to be humiliated for us? Do we need to be reminded He prayed?

It is a tough situation. But maybe it is not so different from any other we might  encounter or be involved in. Being a boss or friend or elder or leader or  follower means being careful in our words because we just might break a heart, inflict a wound or stir up trouble. The breaking of a heart could even include our own. Gently moving forward praying all the while that words of grace and admonition can be spoken and heard.

Careless is never a good thing for a believer. Careless is an action of a person who is not intentional and careful in their walk. Okay, maybe we are forgetful, tired, hunger or just tired of the situation. Still isn’t that only an excuse? Striving side by side for the faith of the gospel is too important.

Intentional, deliberate, carefully, softly as soft words can turn away wrath we must discipline ourselves to speak just so. How many more ways do we need to be told? Over and over in the New Testament the instructions are giving.

Don’t we need to be reminded? I do, nearly every day!

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for the building up, as fits the occasion, that may give grace to all who hear. Ephesians 4: 29

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Careless

  1. Stephanie says:

    Deeply touched by your words here… thank you for sharing. It is so easy for me to be careless— with my thoughts, my words and my actions. And, easiest with those I love most— May the Lord watch over me and cover my mouth, and my heart. Thank you for the reminder today. …a tired day… I needed the reminder.

    • omega57 says:

      I have been tired in my heart for a few weeks now with friends’ illness, deaths and changes. And like you, I needed to be reminded, again, to be careful. How easy to get on a roll of words…walking in a manner worthy is not always easy.

Leave a Reply

