Quiet Stillness

This afternoon was quiet.

Husband is traveling, a girlfriend was over to play with the girls. Quiet. I finished those pesky administrative tasks I am not so good at, hanging over my head since spring. After 2 days fiddling with them, the burden was lifted!  Done.

So this afternoon I sat in the quiet.  Very quiet.

The clamor of the days and random rather useless thoughts have crowded my mind. And more often than I care to admit, nothing floated in my mind.  Memories of quiet and stillness were fading yet calling me back to those treasured moments.  Restorative times for a weary woman.

Yesterday over lunch with a woman who I admire greatly, my thoughts were spoken, of my need to heal. How in my own strength I thought I was getting over a myriad of disappointments and trust breakers.  Denial. I was in denial. I told her of things I barely allowed myself to even think.  She listened, spoke wisely and prayed over me and for me.

Now,  I needed to rush to Him and sit, in the quiet.

And rest in Him.  Then listen without straining or asking or insisting.  But in the quiet as He chose the time to speak.  I am still waiting.

“Be still, and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Reflection, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quiet Stillness

  1. Stephanie says:

    I am very moved by this post. It is in the stillness, in those quiet moments where the “nothing” thoughts and the “everything” thoughts comes swirling, isnt it!? …rush to Him and rest in Him. Thank you for the sweet reminder.

    • omega57 says:

      Still being still. While my thoughts today are rushing to the change and transitions ahead, I am being trying to take the time for stillness.

Leave a Reply

