Tablescape Thursday – Morning Coffee

Several weeks ago I decided having my mid-morning coffee and snack alone was …
well, just plan lonely.

So I sent out an invitation to the ladies in my Sunday school class to join me for a Morning Coffee and planned to make things as pretty as possible.

 Any chance to get out my wedding china makes me smile. So I rinsed the cups saucers and plates, I found my pretty purple tablecloth and in a jiffy the table looked beautiful.

I love that beautiful things can bring a smile and make even simple food look delicious.

My mom brought flowers with her and that added a bit more color.

I had made cookies for my husband earlier in the week. The oatmeal cookies looked so much tastier in my crystal cookie jar.

I made a simple Hot Milk Cake with blackberry preserves and powdered sugar. After making this pretty cake I decided that the next one deserves a cake stand (Wal-Mart here I come…).

 

Fruit, chips and salsa complete the simple menu as well as a few treats from friends – yummy brownies, danishes and jellybeans. And, oh yeah, coffee.

So there you have it. My simple idea to keep from having coffee alone turned out to be slightly more elaborate. What better way to welcome guests than with something beautiful and yummy.

The pretty flowers, china and food are nothing however without friends to share. It was wonderful to have the ladies over. So nice in fact we will do it again this week.

Thank you for sharing some of your morning with me. May God bless you as you go about your task and share time with family and friends.

Tablescape elements:
China pattern – Royal Doulton – Lichfield
Vase – grocery store purchase
Heart bowl – It was a gift so the origin is unknown, but from what I know of the giver it was probably from TJ Maxx or Michael’s.
Coffee Pot – Old English Staffordshire Ware – pattern made for Daughters of the United States Army at West Point
Fruit Bowl – Miska – Italian Countryside
Tablecloth and Napkins – Linens’n’Things
Silverware – Oneida Royal Flute
About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, home, Tablescapes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tablescape Thursday – Morning Coffee

  1. Yvonne says:

    Nancy, I love your teapots! I must say, I am a big fan of red transferware! And I think the way you stacked your teacups give them importance and they make a lovely statement! I’ll have a cookie please.
    Yvonne

  2. Sheila says:

    Very pretty, Nancy! I love your Litchfield. I’m a lover of things Royal Doulton! My wedding china is a pattern called Royal Gold (plain white with a decorative gold band and an inner band of gold).

    That cake looks like it could be the cover of a dessert cookbook! WOW! And all of your other pretties make the table so festive.

    Happy Tablescape Thursday!

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  3. Chari says:

    Hello Nancy…

    Ohhh…what a lovely idea! I absolutely agree that it would be much more fun to have coffee with friends! You have set a lovely table! I love your wedding china…it’s gorgeous! and…I also love that pretty red transferware teapot as well! I do declare that the pretty plum tablecloth is just sooo pretty! That is one of my favorite colors! Well my friend, it looks like you have a feast set for a queen! Have fun with your dear friends when you meet again!!!

    I wanted to come by…Linda left me the sweetest note on my Birds of a Feather tablescape! Thank you, Linda! I really enjoyed your sweet note, my friend!!!

    Warmest wishes,
    Chari @Happy To Design

  4. Pingback: Friday Morning Coffee

Leave a Reply

