Tablescape Thursday – Living Scrapbook

Tablescape Thursday…love being given a glimpse at your tables and a tiny bit into your thinking.  My table this week is a collection of international keepsakes from years past.

our week night tablescape

The tablecloth is a Chinese minority batik cloth brought to me by Rob.

a mix of cultures

We are world travelers and as a result we have some beautiful items!

All the blue and brown pottery dishes came from the Czech Republic and Poland.

The soup cups are Czech purchased during a family vacation.

Czech soup cup and vase

The blue Polish pottery was bought from a traveling salesman. My husband was assigned to Germany in the late 80’s, heady times for Europe.  The eastern Soviet satellite countries were opening their borders.  The Berlin Wall was still standing but its time was short.  It was the times of the fall of communism.

The pottery came to us in a little car.

Many folks loaded the trunks of their beater Fiats (just like the one above) and made their way into West Germany to sell their goods. The dollar was strong and they were resourceful.  One fellow came regularly to our post with Polish pottery.  I still love the rich blue.  It is almost a symbol of freedom to me. His contact, a military wife would begin a phone chain and the word would spread of his impending arrival.  No cell phone or twitter in those days.
Whatever you were doing, you stopped.  He only had so many pieces and if you were slow, you missed out.  We would gather our cash and go to the shed.  Often I arrived before he had his trunk emptied.  Working quickly he would place the blue treasures on the simple shelves for us to examine.

everyday white plates (Linens'n'Things), plain flatware, glasses (Pier1Imports), napkins (TJ Maxx/Williams-Sonoma collection)

These dishes not only tell a family story but a story of a country.

memories and grocery store roses

I love pulling them out.  The story telling begins, a page of a living scrapbook of a life lived.

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Tablescapes. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tablescape Thursday – Living Scrapbook

  1. Emily N. says:

    Oh I love the yellow roses against the deep blue! What a stunning tablescape.

    ~ Emily N. from “too Blessed to Stress”

  2. Joni says:

    I loved your posting and the story behind obtaining your blue dishware—what a fun story. It makes one appreciate the dishes so much more when you know the story. My 13 year old daughter blogs too; only she didn’t want to blog with me, so I set up my own blog!! LOL! Thanks for sharing. I enjoyed all the Tablescape Thursday entries that I looked at, but yours was my favorite!

    • omega57 says:

      Glad you liked it! Thanks! My oldest daughter of 3 is a bit older, married with a baby though my 11 year old would like to join us. That 2 year gap can change a lot! I love the richness of stories and memories too. What is your daughter’s site?

  3. Marigene says:

    Linda, I love your International table…the pottery is beautiful. The yellow of the roses make the blue pop!

  4. joyce says:

    Great story to go with your pottery. Priceless pieces. I was in Poland two years ago and found the pottery to be so pretty. Your tablecloth is just lovely. Thank you for sharing the story and your photos. I enjoyed my peak.
    joyce

  5. Lori E says:

    Those roses are amazing but the tale of the how you got the dishes is even more wonderful.

  6. j says:

    Your dishes are special because of the memories they invoke! I enjoyed your stories, Joan

  7. marsha says:

    I love the color dark blue and the orange rose. I would never have thought of putting the two colors together. Well done.

Leave a Reply

