Prepare Our Hearts for Him

Ash Wednesday

is today. For many of my friends, observing Lent is not part of their custom or tradition.  This year, if it has not been your custom, consider observing Lent.  Why? To prepare our hearts and reflect on the goodness of God and on the direction Christ deliberately moved toward the cross.

Passover Plate

Giving up something for Lent is one traditional primary observance.   The usual thing to give up is chocolate or some other favorite food or activity.

It is meant to be a physical reminder daily of His own

sacrifice

for us.  Another possibility is to perhaps incorporate a new pattern of worship, reading and prayer that specifical could help you focus on the death and resurrection of Christ.

This morning during my church women’s weekly study, we watched a powerful video on the celebration of Feast of the Tabernacle by Beth Moore from the Psalm of Ascent study, Stepping Up.  It was a perfect beginning  for Lent. As I focus on the words of water, light, dwelling and joy, I anticipate a fresh and new understanding, building on what she taught. I can’t wait!

The snow was gently falling this morning but did not accumulate.  Meg carried her cupcakes for the belayed Valentine’s party to school.  She was dressed in red.  Another holiday kid in our family!  She and Will help us remember to celebrate!

Sadly, sometimes we have to be reminded to celebrate!

So this is a reminder, as we enter into this season of preparation for the

celebration

of the resurrection.  Can we have that without some remembrance of the cost?  I, for one, do need this time to reflect and remember.

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Seasons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

