Silly Birthday Hat

Let me tell you about our big family birthday celebration! It was our third baby’s birthday! Okay, Will is 23 but still…maybe I am having a bit of trouble letting go?? The day before, he had left me a note…

“I’ll get up for pecan waffles”!

Guess what we had??  Yummy!  Our one and only sweet pea granddaughter with her mom, our first born dropped by so Nancy got a taste too.

For the big day, we went for a “let’s get stuffed” birthday lunch at the restaurant of his choice.  The folks at Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant entered into the spirit and did a great job of taking care of us.  The balloons on Will’s chair didn’t even  phase them.

We took pictures. Meg loved taking lots and lots of pictures.

Sweet Pea and her parents came too.

Will likes being an uncle. He is already a wonderful big brother. The only one missing was Robert who is in Germany.

our family silly Birthday HAT

When I pulled it out of the bag, he wore it without protest. Will concluded sagely that if at 23 he could not handle wearing it even in public, well, that would be pitiful.  Actually, he and all the family including Nathan, our son-in-law are good sports about it.  Restaurant patrons grinned at our frivolity.  I wondered if one  smiling woman was thinking of her own adult kids.

What else made this day so particularly special?  We are a global nomad family.  At  one time we were living in 3 different continents! Big Kids seem to go away  for college, away to the Army, away for employment.  Also,we, the parents with  the 2  young ones still in elementary school, often go overseas for  business. Separations are tough.  Missing holidays and birthday celebrations  together are especially hard on the heart. For this particular big kid, there has  not been a big birthday whole family celebration with us for 5 years!  We did  not  mean for that to happen. Intentionality was included in our plans for  summers  and holidays but somehow the birthday never came together.

The early morning of his day, I grieved over the celebrations missed.  As I wept,

… the Lord reminded me;

this was his year for the

silly Birthday HAT!

Suddenly, I could not wait for the fun to begin! Quick out of bed! First, the girls and I slipped out early to get the gifts and all the trimmings.  Our smiles were pretty big since we were on a secret fun mission which was as much fun as Christmas secret purchasing.  However, I must tell you, fighting the large balloons in the car while trying to make the gift bags pretty was not easy!

Meg, Amy and I were like kindergarteners as we watched with baited breath.  We all were actually.                                                                              “Would he like his presents?? Somehow, my mothering was on the line.

 

He did! Big Sigh of relief.  He liked the gifts.  He liked his day.  He loved being the

“Birthday Boy”!

Yes, we have a lot to CELEBRATE!  I love my family!  Our 5 kids plus the not so new anymore in law son stretch from 30 to 9.  Some say it keeps us young.  I don’t know about that.  What I do know is we have cause every single day for joy and thankfulness.

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

