Choosing His Peace…Doing the Jesse Tree

Choosing His Peace…

           “Doing the Jesse Tree”

 

We had quite the time this past Sunday morning just trying to “do the Jesse Tree”.   

The ornaments were ready.  (See http://www.eriercd.org/jessetree.htm for the ornaments we printed out.)  The girls had pasted the pictures and added glitter for shine.  The ribbons were tied. Dad had put our branch tree up.  It was sitting, waiting… empty of symbols of the promise of His coming.    

I went right to the pile where the books were supposed to be.  Oh no!  They had disappeared.  My search was almost frantic.  Eventually, reason came to me and I turned to the computer to pull up a document sent by a friend in a recent letter.  I quickly found it and hit print. The paper jammed! The worst jam ever! Quickly I jotted down references for reading or to summarize. Finally! Around the table we listened and hear how He planned for the Advent of Jesus from the beginning. My heart refused to be quieted.  I wanted perfection.  He wanted adoration and worship. Ears to listen, hearts to hear.  I was facing a choice in my agitated heart and knew I was losing this tussle but still had a choice to keep on being frazzled and be in an increasingly more difficult battle over the next minutes or hours.  Or I could choose Him and His offering of peace.    

Afterwards, I read some more selections and stories told to illustrate some part of the celebration of Advent. Remembrance and anticipation of His coming as a baby who grew into the man who died for our sins should bring any of us to our knees and certainly to that position in our hearts and minds of awe and amazement of this gift of peace. He is the maker of peace for us and broke the barriers and walls down to God Adonai.      

The first snow is falling. 

Happy sounds are coming from the kitchen. 

 

Peace, His Peace has come  

  

 From the Garden…

    To Jesus, the Alpha and Omega

 

May you enjoy His Peace today.

Linda    

 

 

   

About chinamom3078

I am a woman who loves Jesus who loved me first. Prone to wander and distraction is common for me as I seek to reflect Him in my daily life. I am wife, mom, and grandma who has lived on 3 continents in 26+ apartments, townhouses, military housing, suburbs and now a 200 plus year old farm house. Preparing and hosting meals for the hundreds who have passsed through our home has been a joy and blessing to our family as we listened and shared over meals, coffee, light nights and Bible studies. A rich life! I have reached the age to feel qualifies to be an ”older woman” (as in Titus) even though I feel far from old and have plenty of room to grow each and everyday. And my joy is to teach Bible studies and help train other women to lead well.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Advent, family, home, Seasons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

